Main content

Mozart, Gourzi and Grieg from the 2019 Cheltenham Music Festival

Georgia Mann presents BBC New Generation Artists performing music by Mozart, Grieg and a world premiere by Konstantia Gourzi from the 2019 Cheltenham Music Festival.

Georgia Mann celebrates the twentieth anniversary of BBC Radio 3’s New Generation Artists scheme with a selection of performances by current members, from the Pittville Pump Room at the 2019 Cheltenham Music Festival. Elisabeth Brauss begins with Mozart’s turbulent piano sonata in A minor, composed not long after the death of his mother. This is followed by a world premiere, Call of the Bees, performed by Anastasia Kobekina, and dedicated to the natural world by the Greek composer Konstantia Gourzi. To end, a flavour of Norwegian folk music in Grieg’s second violin sonata, played by Aleksey Semenenko and Lilit Grygoryan.

Mozart: Sonata in A minor, K310
Elisabeth Brauss, piano

Gourzi: Call of the Bees
Anastasia Kobekina, cello
Lilit Grigoryan, piano

Grieg: Violin Sonata No 2 in G, Op 13
Aleksey Semenenko, violin
Lilit Grigoryan, piano

Produced by Luke Whitlock

26 days left to listen

57 minutes

Music Played

  • Fanny Hensel

    Trio In D Minor Op.11 For Piano And Strings

    Ensemble: Dartington Piano Trio.
    • HELIOS : CDH-55078.
    • HELIOS.
    • 1.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Piano Sonata in A minor, K 310

    Performer: Elisabeth Brauss.
  • Konstantia Gourzi

    Call of the Bees

    Performer: Anastasia Kobekina. Performer: Lilit Grigoryan.
  • Edvard Grieg

    Violin Sonata No 2 in G major, Op 13

    Performer: Aleksey Semenenko. Performer: Lilit Grigoryan.


Featured in...