Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Prom 63: Yuja Wang plays Rachmaninov

Live at the BBC Proms. The Staatskapelle Dresden, conducted by Myung-Whun Chung, perform Brahms's Symphony No 2 and, with Yuja Wang, Rachmaninov's Piano Concerto No 3.

Live BBC Proms: The Staatskapelle Dresden with Myung-Whun Chung and Yuja Wang in works by Rachmaninov and Brahms.

Live from the Royal Albert Hall, London
Presented by Ian Skelly

Rachmaninov: Piano Concerto No. 3 in D minor

Interval Proms Plus: Each year Proms Plus and the Free Thinking programme invite a leading author to talk about their career. Mark Haddon - author of the literary and theatrical super-hit The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time - discusses the ideas in his latest novel, The Porpoise. The book re-imagines the legend of Pericles, Prince of Tyre, the subject of an epic work by the English poet Gower, and a play by Shakespeare, keeping its central image of a ship at sea, but re-imagining it in a modern age of aviation. He is interviewed by Anne McElvoy. Produced by Fiona McLean. The whole interview will be broadcast as a Free Thinking episode later in September.

Brahms: Symphony No. 2 in D major

Yuja Wang (piano)
Staatskapelle Dresden
Myung-Whun Chung (conductor)

Explosively virtuosic and a thrilling live performer, Yuja Wang is the soloist in Rachmaninov’s emotionally expansive and technically demanding Third Piano Concerto – one of the most challenging in the repertoire.
She joins conductor Myung-Whun Chung and the Staatskapelle Dresden – the second of this week’s visiting European orchestras – for a concert that also includes Brahms’s genial Symphony No. 2, whose freshness and spontaneity have drawn comparisons with Beethoven’s ‘Pastoral’ Symphony.

2 hours, 29 minutes

Music Played

  • Sergey Rachmaninov

    Piano Concerto No. 3 in D minor

    Performer: Yuja Wang. Orchestra: Staatskapelle Dresden.
  • Sergey Rachmaninov

    Vocalise (Op.34`14), arr. for misc. forces

    Performer: Yuja Wang.
  • Vincent Youmans

    Tea for Two

    Performer: Yuja Wang.
  • Johannes Brahms

    Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 73

    Conductor: Myung-Whun Chung. Orchestra: Staatskapelle Dresden.
  • Johannes Brahms

    Hungarian Dance No.1 in G minor

    Orchestra: Staatskapelle Dresden.
  • Herbie Hancock

    Harvest Time

    Performer: Herbie Hancock.
    • The Piano.
    • Sony.
    • 004.
  • John Luther Adams

    Strange Birds Passing

    Ensemble: NEC Contemporary Ensemble. Conductor: John Heiss.
    • Mode.
  • Ralph Vaughan Williams

    Fantasia on Greensleeves

    Orchestra: Britten Sinfonia. Conductor: Nicholas Cleobury.
    • CONIFER.


  • Thu 5 Sep 2019 19:30

Featured in...

The home of classical music and the Proms on the BBC

The home of classical music and the Proms on the BBC

Every Proms concert is broadcast live on Radio 3 - don't miss a single one.