Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Essential Classics with Ian Skelly: The Gloucester Slave Song, Herrmann's Concerto Macabre

Ian Skelly with Essential Classics - the best in classical music.

0930 Your ideas for companion pieces on the Essential Classics playlist.

1010 Musical Time Travellers – stories behind the music making of the British Isles.

2 hours, 1 minute

Music Played

  • Johannes Brahms

    Serenade No 2 in A major, Op.16 (4th mvt)

    Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Bernard Haitink.
    • LSO Live.
  • George Frideric Handel

    Chaconne and Variations in G major, HWV 435

    Performer: Murray Perahia.
    • Murray Perahia plays Handel and Scarlatti.
    • Sony Classical.
    • 5.
  • Bernard Herrmann

    Concerto Macabre "Hangover Square"

    Performer: Joaquín Achúcarro. Orchestra: National Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: Charles Gerhardt.
    • Dutton.
  • Franz Schubert

    Die Taubenpost, D 957 No 14 (Schwanengesang)

    Performer: Gerold Huber. Singer: Christian Gerhaher.
    • Schubert: Schwanengesang & 4 Lieder: Gerhaher/Huber.
    • Arte Nova Classics.
    • 14.
  • Dame Ethel Mary Smyth

    String Quartet in E minor (4th mvt)

    Ensemble: Archaeus Quartet.
    • Lorelt.
  • Antonio Vivaldi

    Concerto in G minor, RV 104, 'La notte'

    Orchestra: Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century. Conductor: Frans Brüggen.
    • VIVARTE.
  • Franz Schubert

    Der Leiermann (Winterreise)

    Performer: Graham Johnson. Singer: Matthias Goerne.
  • Ernest Bloch

    Nuit exotique for violin and piano

    Performer: Hagai Shaham. Performer: Arnon Erez.
    • Ernest Bloch: Violin sonatas: Shaham/Erez.
    • Hyperion.
  • Franz Liszt


    Performer: Krystian Zimerman. Orchestra: Boston Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Seiji Ozawa.
    • Liszt: The Collection.
    • Deutsche Grammophon.
  • Bernard Herrmann

    Wuthering Heights - Introduction

    Orchestra: Pro Arte Orchestra. Conductor: Bernard Herrmann.
    • Unicorn-Kanchana.
  • Herbert Howells

    Cello Concerto (Finale)

    Performer: Guy Johnston. Orchestra: Britten Sinfonia. Conductor: Christopher Seaman.
    • King's College.


Our Classical Century

Our Classical Century

Radio 3 explores 100 key musical moments that shaped us, from 1918 to the present day.

Time Travellers: the podcast

Time Travellers: the podcast

Eleanor Rosamund Barraclough presents quirky tales gathered from the corners of history.