Main content

Maxim Emelyanychev and SCO players

Pianist and conductor Maxim Emelyanychev joins SCO players for Romantic chamber works by Brahms, Schumann and Dohnányi, live from the Queen's Hall in Edinburgh.

Russian pianist and conductor Maxim Emelyanychev takes up his post as Principal Conductor of the SCO in September 2019 and in this EIF debut shows his credentials as an instrumentalist when he joins forces with some section principals and former members of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra for a spot of romantic chamber music. Composer Ernst von Dohnanyi, was also a formidable pianist described as 'a poet who just happened to play the piano.' His sextet was his last major work, scored with almost orchestral richness for winds, strings and piano. Talents of individual SCO and former SCO players are shown off too in Brahms' mellow and rather melancholic Trio for clarinet, cello and piano as well as Schumann's Adagio and Allegro for horn and piano which was a particular favourite of Clara's and foreshadows Schumann's show-stopping Konzertstück for four horns. Presented by Donald Macleod.

Schumann: Adagio and Allegro Op 70
Brahms: Trio for Clarinet, Cello and Piano in A minor op 114

Interval at 11.40am approx.
Donald Macleod introduces music by JS Bach performed by one of the foremost authorities of the great keyboard master, Angela Hewitt appearing at this year's Festival..

Dohnányi: Sextet Op 37

Maxim Emelyanychev (piano)
Maximiliano Martín (clarinet)
Alec Frank-Gemmill (horn)
Benjamin Marquise-Gilmore (violin)
Fiona Winning (viola)
Philip Higham (cello)

Donald Macleod (presenter)
Lindsay Pell (producer)

22 days left to listen

1 hour, 59 minutes

Music Played

  • Robert Schumann

    Adagio and Allegro Op.70

    Performer: Maxim Emelyanychev. Performer: Alec Frank-Gemmill.
  • Johannes Brahms

    Trio for Clarinet, Cello, and Piano in A minor Op 114

    Performer: Maxim Emelyanychev. Performer: Maximiliano Martín.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Partita No 5 in G Major BWV829

    Performer: Angela Hewitt.
  • Erno Dohnanyi

    Sextet Op 37

    Performer: Maxim Emelyanychev. Ensemble: Principals of SCO.
  • Béla Bartók

    String Quartet No. 5, Sz. 102, Allegro & Adagio molto

    Ensemble: Meta4.
    • Bartok: String Quartets [Meta4] [Hanssler Classic: 98.036].
    • Hanssler Classic.
    • 04.
  • Giles Farnaby

    Woody-cock - variations MB.24.40 (Fitzwilliam virginal book) for keyboard no.141

    Performer: Mahan Esfahani.
    • The Passinge Mesures.
    • Hyperion.
    • 14.


Featured in...