Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Scottish pianist Steven Osborne performs Schubert's final piano sonata and part of Messiaen's towering masterpiece 'Vingt Regards sur L'Enfant Jesus' live from the Queen's Hall

Scottish-born pianist Steven Osborne performs a selection of meditations from Messiaen's towering masterwork of the 20th century for solo piano. It was written for his wife Yvonne Loriod, a fine pianist who invited Steven Osborne to study the work with her in Paris in 1999 after hearing him play other works by her late husband. Before that, Steven Osborne chooses the final of the three last piano sonatas by Schubert. Live from the Queen's Hall in Edinburgh.

SCHUBERT: Piano Sonata in B flat major D.960


MESSIAEN: Vingt Regards sur l'enfant-Jésus No.s 1, 8, 14, 19, 10
Regard du Père
Regard des hauteurs
Regard des anges
Je dors, mais mon coeur veille
Regard de l’esprit de joie

Steven Osborne, piano

Donald Macleod (presenter)
Lindsay Pell (producer)

1 hour, 59 minutes

Music Played

  • Franz Schubert

    Sonata in B flat major D.960

    Performer: Steven Osborne.
  • Olivier Messiaen

    Selection from Vingt Regards sur l'enfant-Jésus

    Performer: Steven Osborne.
  • Claude Debussy

    Canopes from Preludes

    Performer: Steven Osborne.
  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    String Quartet No. 15 in A minor, Op. 132 IV. Alla Marcia

    Ensemble: Casals Quartet.
    • Beethoven: Revelations 3.
    • harmonia mundi.
    • 4.


Featured in...