Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

East Neuk Festival 3/4

The Pavel Hass Quartet play Shostakovich and Dvorak.

Kate Molleson presents the third Lunchtime concert from this year's East Neuk Festival, which is held in venues up and down the beautiful coastline of the Kingdom of Fife. The Pavel Haas Quartet play two contrasting works in The Bowhouse, just outside the picturesque harbour town of St. Monans.
Dmitri Shostakovich dedicated his String Quartet No. 8 to "the victims of fascism and the war" when he wrote it in 1960. It is a powerful work that was written in just three days at a time of deteriorating health for the composer and it reduced Shostakovich to tears upon hearing it played in a private recital. The concert starts with the joyful String Quintet in E-flat, Op. 97, which was composed by Antonín Dvořák during the summer he spent in Spillville, Iowa in 1893. The Pavel Haas Quartet are joined by Krzysztof Chorzelski from the Belcea Quartet in this Viola Quintet.

Dvořák: String Quintet in E-flat ‘American’, Op 97
Pavel Hass Quartet & Krzysztof Chorzelski, viola

Shostakovich: Quartet No 8 in C minor, Op 110
Pavel Hass Quartet

57 minutes

Music Played

  • Antonín Dvořák

    Quintet in E flat major Op.97

    Ensemble: Pavel Haas Quartet.
  • Dmitry Shostakovich

    Quartet no. 8 in C minor Op.110

    Ensemble: Pavel Haas Quartet.


Featured in...