Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

East Neuk Festival 2/4

The Belcea String Quartet join and Elisabeth Leonskaja perform Brahms's Piano Quintet in F minor.

Kate Molleson presents the second Lunchtime Concert from this year's East Neuk Festival. Today, Diyang Mei, viola, and Benjamin Baker, violin, perform Johan Halvorsen's virtuosic take on Handel in his Passacaglia for viola and violin. This is followed by a quintet fit for a Prussian princess. When it was published in 1865, Brahms dedicated his Piano Quintet in F minor to Her Royal Highness Princess Anna of Hesse. The Belcea String Quartet are joined in the quintet by "piano royalty", Elisabeth Leonskaja.

Halvorsen: Passacaglia for viola and violin (after Handel)
Diyang Mei, viola
Benjamin Baker, violin

Brahms: Piano Quintet in F minor, Op. 34
Elisabeth Leonskaja, piano
Belcea String Quartet

57 minutes

Music Played

  • Johan Halvorsen

    Passacaglia (after Handel)

    Performer: Benjamin Baker. Performer: Diyang Mei.
  • Johannes Brahms

    Piano Quintet in F minor, Op.34

    Performer: Elisabeth Leonskaja. Ensemble: Belcea Quartet.