Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Norfolk and Norwich Chamber Series: Schubert's Octet

The Philharmonia Chamber Players perform Schubert's Octet, D803, at the Norfolk and Norwich Chamber Music Series.

Schubert was commissioned in 1824 by Count Ferdinand Troyer, a clarinettist and courtier of Archduke Rudolf of Austria-Tuscany to write a large-scale chamber work in the style of Beethoven's popular Septet. Not wanting to imitate Beethoven directly, Schubert added an extra violin, which made unusual instrumentation of String Quartet, Double Bass, French Horn, Bassoon and Clarinet - which Troyer played at the first performance.

Presented by Tom McKinney

Franz Schubert: Octet in F major, D803

Philharmonia Chamber Players
Rebecca Chan (violin)
Annabelle Meare (violin)
Nicholas Bootiman (viola)
Karen Stephenson (cello)
Timothy Gibbs (double bass)
Peter Sparks (clarinet)
Robin O'Neill (bassoon)
Kira Doherty (horn)

57 minutes

Music Played

  • Franz Schubert

    Octet in F major, D. 803

    Ensemble: Philharmonia Chamber Players.


Featured in...