Main content

Grand Final

Five exceptional dancers compete for the overall title as BBC Young Dancer 2019 reaches its finale.

Five exceptional dancers compete for the overall title as BBC Young Dancer 2019 reaches its finale. Anita Rani and Ore Oduba present full coverage of the Grand Final as Birmingham Hippodrome plays host to this prestigious competition for the first time. The finalists perform in front of packed house including a judging panel made up some of the UK's leading dance figures. Competing for the title are the winners from the South Asian Dance, Contemporary, Ballet and Street Dance Finals together with one dancer awarded the judges 'wildcard' place.

Tasked with choosing the winner are a panel of dance experts: Emma Gladstone - artistic director and chief executive of Dance Umbrella; Wayne McGregor - founder Studio Wayne McGregor and resident choreographer at the Royal Ballet; Shobana Jayasingh – founder Shobana Jayasingh Dance; B-boy Junior Bosila Banya dancer, teacher and member of Wanted Posse crew; Chitra Sundaram- dance/theatre choreographer, performer and educator; and Christopher Hampson – artistic director and chief executive Scottish Ballet.

In the Grand Final each dancer has been paired with a leading choreographer to create a brand new solo for the occasion. They will also dance a solo and duet or pas de deux from their repertoire. At the end of the evening one will be named BBC Young Dancer 2019 - joining previous winners Connor Scott and Nafisah Baba.

Special guests joining us for the evening include Jonzi D who was the chair of the judging panel throughout the Category Finals and Xander Parish, principal dancer Mariinsky Ballet.

24 days left to watch

2 hours, 5 minutes

Last on

Last Saturday 20:00

Music Played

Timings (where shown) are from the start of the programme in hours and minutes

  • 00:14

    Lemon Jelly

    Experiment No.6

  • 00:54

    Jonsi & Alex, Riceboy Sleeps

    Boy 1904

  • 01:15

    The Irrepressibles

    In This Shirt

  • 01:34

    Years & Years

    Lucky Escape

  • 01:36

    Bruno Major

    Just The Same

  • 01:41

    Kendrick Lamar



Role Contributor
Presenter Anita Rani
Presenter Ore Oduba
Executive Producer Paul Bullock
Series Producer Anwen Rees
Production Manager Jo Marks
Director Rhodri Huw