Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Shostakovich in peace and war

Live from Wigmore Hall, London, the Pavel Haas Quartet plays Shostakovich's String Quartets No 7 in F sharp minor and No 2 in A.

Live from Wigmore Hall, London, the Pavel Haas Quartet play two Shostakovich's Seventh and Second string quartets.

Introduced by Sara Mohr-Pietsch.

Shostakovich: String Quartet No 7 in F sharp minor, Op 108; String Quartet No 2 in A, Op 68

Pavel Haas Quartet

Named after a Czech composer taught by Janáček and subsequently murdered in the Holocaust, the Pavel Haas Quatet's performances have been described as ‘spellbinding’ thanks to their ‘total immersion in the music’. Dedicated to the memory of his first wife, Nina, Shostakovich’s short Seventh Quartet (1960) opens the concert, followed by the wartime Second (1941), which refers to Jewish folk music.

57 minutes

Music Played

  • Dmitry Shostakovich

    String Quartet No. 7 in F-sharp minor, Op. 108

    Ensemble: Pavel Haas Quartet.
  • Dmitry Shostakovich

    String Quartet no. 2 in A major, Op.68

    Ensemble: Pavel Haas Quartet.


  • Mon 22 Apr 2019 13:00
  • Sun 28 Apr 2019 13:00

Featured in...