Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

#DancePassion with Carlos Acosta, Viktoria Mullova, Katya Apekisheva, Meow Meow and Laura Morera

Sean Rafferty presents a special edition for #DancePassion. Live music from Viktoria Mullova, Katya Apekisheva and cabaret star Meow Meow, plus legendary dancer Carlos Acosta.

Sean Rafferty presents a special edition that celebrates the art of dance for the BBC's #DancePassion day. He talks to legendary dancer Carlos Acosta about his biopic Yuli, which is in cinemas this month. Prima ballerina Laura Morera is joined by cabaret star Meow Meow to look forward to their upcoming show at Wilton's Music Hall: Kurt Weil and Bertolt Brecht's The Seven Deadly Sins, produced by another renowned ballerina Viviana Durante. Meow Meow performs live for us, as does pianist Katya Apekisheva. Plus violinist Viktoria Mullova stops off in the studio in the midst of a UK tour with the Hallé Orchestra; she illustrates the influence of dance on Baroque instrumental music by playing music by Bach live in the studio. And on their 50th birthday, we talk to Scottish Ballet's Artistic Director Christopher Hampson about how they're celebrating the big five-oh!

2 hours

Music Played

  • Antonín Dvořák

    Slavonic Dance in G minor, Op 46 No 8

    Orchestra: Royal Scottish National Orchestra. Conductor: Neeme Järvi.
    • Dvorak: Complete Slavonic Dances: RSNO, Jarvi.
    • Chandos.
    • 8.
  • Alberto Ginastera

    Danza del viejo boyero (Danzas argentinas, Op 2 No 1)

    Performer: Katya Apekisheva.
  • Brìghde Chaimbeul

    An Leimras / Harris Dance

    • River Lea.
  • Georges Bizet

    Toreador Song and Habanera (Carmen Suite No 2)

    Music Arranger: Ernest Guiraud. Orchestra: Orquestra Simfònica de Barcelona i Nacional de Catalunya. Conductor: Pablo González.
    • Naxos.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Sonata for solo violin No 1 in G minor, BWV1001 (Siciliana)

    Performer: Viktoria Mullova.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Partita for solo violin No 1 in B minor, BWV1002 (Allemande - Double)

    Performer: Viktoria Mullova.
  • Sergei Prokofiev

    Romeo and Juliet (Act I conclusion)

    Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Valery Gergiev.
    • LSO LIVE.
  • Pablo Beltrán Ruiz


    Music Arranger: Alexander L’Estrange. Choir: VOCES8.
  • Alberto Ginastera

    Danza de la moza donosa (Danzas argentinas, Op 2 No 2)

    Performer: Katya Apekisheva.
  • Jean‐Philippe Rameau

    Dardanus (Act 4; Contredanse)

    Ensemble: English Baroque Soloists. Conductor: Sir John Eliot Gardiner.
    • Music at the Court of Versailles: Charpentier/Delalande/Lully/Rameau.
    • Erato.
    • 15.
  • Alberto Ginastera

    Danza del gaucho matrero (Danzas argentinas, Op 2 No 3)

    Performer: Katya Apekisheva.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Serenade in B flat major, K 361, 'Gran Partita' (3rd mvt)

    Orchestra: Orpheus Chamber Orchestra.
    • DG.
  • Camille Saint‐Saëns

    Danse Macabre

    Performer: Madeline Adkins. Orchestra: Utah Symphony. Conductor: Thierry Fischer.
    • Hyperion.
  • Antonio Valente

    Gallarda Napolitana

    Ensemble: Hespèrion XXI. Director: Jordi Savall.
    • ALIA VOX.
  • Kurt Weill

    Seven Deadly Sins (Prologue)

    Performer: Meow Meow. Performer: Ben Comeau.
  • Michel Legrand

    Sans toi

    Performer: Meow Meow. Performer: Ben Comeau.
  • Igor Stravinsky

    The Firebird (Final section)

    Orchestra: City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Sir Simon Rattle.
    • Stravinsky: The Firebird.
    • EMI.
    • 7.
  • Le Vent du Nord

    Step à Alexis

  • Astor Piazzolla


    Performer: Meow Meow. Performer: Ben Comeau.


  • Fri 5 Apr 2019 17:00

Featured in...

Home Sessions

Home Sessions

Keeping listeners in touch with favourite performers, making music in their own homes.

Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

30 minutes of uninterrupted music - on air every weekday at 7pm and online at any time.

In Tune Sessions

In Tune Sessions

Watch live performances recorded at the In Tune studios