Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Royal Stockholm Philharmonic and Romanian Radio Orchestra

Enescu and Ravel from Romania, and Tchaikovsky's Violin Concerto in D from Stockholm with soloist Lisa Batiashvili.

Tchaikovsky's lushly romantic and sparkling Violin Concerto is performed with grace and ebullience by Georgian violinist Lisa Batiashvili with the Royal Stockholm Philharmonic. Before that, another great concerto: Ravel's jazz-infused Piano Concerto. Soloist Javier Perianes joins the Romanian Radio National Orchestra, who begin the programme with their countryman George Enescu's energetically folksy Romanian Rhapsody No.1.

Presented by Kate Molleson.

Ensecu: Romanian Rhapsody No.1

Ravel: Piano Concerto in G
Javier Perianes (piano)
Romanian Radio National Orchestra
Jean-Claude Casadesus (conductor)

Ann-Sofi Söderqvist: Movements

Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto in D
Lisa Batiashvili (violin)
Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
Karina Canellakis (conductor)

1 hour, 14 minutes

Music Played

  • Maurice Ravel

    Concerto in G major for piano and orchestra

    Performer: Javier Perianes. Orchestra: National Radio Orchestra of Romania. Conductor: Jean‐Claude Casadesus.
  • Manuel de Falla

    Ritual fire dance from El amor brujo

    Performer: Javier Perianes.
  • Ann-Sofi Söderqvist


    Orchestra: Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: Karina Canellakis.
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

    Concerto in D major, Op.35

    Performer: Lisa Batiashvili. Orchestra: Stockholm Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: Karina Canellakis.


Featured in...

The women erased from musical history

The women erased from musical history

Discover the music of five forgotten women composers, performed in a special IWD concert.

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Music by Malcolm Arnold, Edward Elgar and Herbert Howells.