Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Elisabeth Jacquet de La Guerre's Cephale et Procris

Elisabeth Jacquet de La Guerre's 1694 opera Cephale et Procris from Musica Fiorita under Daniela Dolci. Plus music by Sally Beamish and Bartok from the BBC Symphony Orchestra.

Elisabeth Jacquet de La Guerre was a child prodigy and performed on the harpsichord at a young age before the French king, Louis XIV. She was one of the few well-known female composers of her time, and today we hear her 1694 opera Céphale et Procris, first performed at the Académie Royale de Musique. This five-act tragédie lyrique was the first opera written by a woman in France.
The afternoon ends with works by Sally Beamish and Bartok

Presented by Kate Molleson

Elisabeth Jacquet de la Guerre: Céphale et Procris

Procris.....Raphaele Kennedy (Soprano)
Cephale.....Achim Schultz (Counter-tenor)
Dorine.....Camilla De Falleiro (Soprano)
Arcas.....Lisandro Abadie (Bass)
Boree / La Desespoir.....Emil Rovner (Bass)
Priestess / Iphis.....Anna Jesus Sanchez (Soprano)The
L'Aurore.....Mariana Flores (Soprano)
La Volupte.....Gry Elisabeth Knudsen (Soprano)
A Thracian.....Kazuko Nakano (Alto)
Rage.....Alex Potter (Counter-tenor)
Jealousy.....Daniel Issa Goncalves (Tenor)
The King.....Erich Bieri (Bass)
Musica Fiorita
Daniela Dolci (director)

Sally Beamish: The Singing – Accordion Concerto
James Crabb (accordion)
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Martyn Brabbins (conductor)

Bartok: Divertimento for Strings
BBC Symphony Orchestra Strings
Gergely Madaras (conductor)

3 hours

Music Played

  • Élisabeth Jacquet de La Guerre

    Cephale et Procris

    Ensemble: Musica Fiorita. Conductor: Daniela Dolci.
    • ORF Alte Edition.
    • 1.
  • Sally Beamish

    The Singing - Concerto for Accordion and Orchestra

    Performer: James Crabb. Orchestra: BBC Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Martyn Brabbins.
  • Béla Bartók

    Divertimento for Strings

    Orchestra: BBC Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Gergely Madaras.
  • Amanda Feery

    Gone to Earth

    Ensemble: Amatis Piano Trio.