Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Tom sits in for Gilles, with Pinty and Bradley Zero

Tom sits in for Gilles, with Peckham DJ and MC Pinty and Rhythm Section label boss Bradley Zero

Tom Ravenscroft sits in for Gilles Peterson one last time and welcomes Peckham DJ and MC Pinty to the studio. Fresh from the release of his debut EP ‘City Limits’ (released yesterday no less) on the excellent Rhythm Section International label and featuring production from the likes of King Krule, Pinty is suddenly the rapper on everybody’s lips. Fitting somewhere between woozy, smoky Hip Hop, chill out House with elements of Garage thrown in for good measure. And knowing that his dad was a poet and older brother an MC during the golden age of garage and jungle, suddenly everything makes complete sense. Joining Pinty will be his boss, the head honcho of Rhythm Section Bradley Zero (real name). The Leeds born, London based DJ, radio host, label founder helped to set up Boiler Room as well as numerous nights and gigs around the city, leading him to start the label 10 years ago and allowing him to find the next generation of incredibly musicians. Namely Pinty.

3 hours

Music Played

  • James Alexander Bright

    Tigers Roar

    • K7.
  • Jitwam


    • Honeycomb.
    • Tartelet Records.
  • Weval

    False State of Mind

  • Tenderlonious

    Dale's Corner

    • 22a.
  • Ben Hayes & Nubya Garcia

    Ready Yet

    • R&S.
  • Star Band


    • Ostinato Records LLC.
  • ¡Súbelo Cuba!

    Compañeros Tropicales (feat. DJ Jigüe)

    • Brownswood Recordings.
  • Shahid Wheeler

    Just One Dance Before You Go

    • Melodies International.
  • Maria Somerville


    • All My People.
    • Copyright Control.
  • Arthur Russell

    Not Checking Up

    • Audika Records LLC.
  • Vtgnike

    Sentimental Geometry

    • Steals.
    • Other People.
  • Jonwayne

    These Words Are Everything

  • Ta-ku

    Make You Wanna

    • Jakarta.
  • Al Dobson Jr.

    Malay Guarter

    • Izwid.
  • Muqata'a

    Marj'Ibn Amer'm

    • Inkanakuntu.
    • Souk Records.
  • RAMZi


    • Phobiza Vol.3: Amor Fati.
    • FATi Records.
  • Laurence Pike

    Drum Chant

    • Leaf Label.
  • Skee Mask


    • Illian Tapes.
  • Oliver Coates


    • RVNG Intl..
  • Kassa Overall

    Do You (feat. Theo Croker)

  • The Range

    Metal Swing (Alternative Edit)

    • Providence.
    • Donkey Pitch.
  • Pinty

    City Limits

    • Rhythm Section International.
  • King Krule

    Half Man Half Shark

  • Henry Wu

    Good Morning Pecknaam

    • Rhythm Section International.
  • Joy Orbison


    • Hinge Finger.
  • Joe Armon-Jones & Maxwell Owin

    SE Discotheque

    • YAM Records.
  • Bobby Womack

    If You Think You're Lonely Now

  • Neue Grafik Ensemble & Nubya Garcia

    Voodoo Rain

  • Rupert Holmes

    Escape (The Pina Colada Song)

    • Various Artists - Open Top Cars.
    • Temple Records.
  • MC Pinty

    Moonlit Duty

  • FootRocket

    Stop That Man

    • Raund Haus.
  • Letherette

    Just For You

    • Wulf Records.
  • Lakehead


    • strictly strictly.
  • Laurence Guy

    My Brain Is Scrambled Egg

  • KH (Four Tet)

    Only Human

  • Richard Marks

    I'm The Man For You

    • Now-Again Records.
  • James AV


    • 125+.


6 Music Recommends

6 Music Recommends

Tom and fellow 6 Music DJs play their favourite new tunes.