Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Czech chamber music, including works for wind instruments by Antonin Reicha and Smetana's First Quartet. Presented by Sarah Walker.

The Czech Chamber Music Society is one of the oldest and most renowned musical institutions in the Czech Republic. It was founded to promote the concert activities of the then young Bohemian Quartet and its opening concert took place at the Rudolfinum in Prague on October 10, 1894.

Fast forward 120 years to 2018 and both the Czech Chamber Music Society and their promotion of young Czech musicians continues. In the Lunchtime Concert this week we will hear from the latest groups, including today the Belfiato Wind Quintet, who will appear each day for the rest of this week.

And one of the current outstanding String Quartets, and former BBC Nw Generation Artists, the Pavel Haas Quartet, who appear in Friday's programme performing Dvorak, and today playing Smetana's 1st String Quartet, whose final movement breaks down imtating the tinnitus that plagued Smetana as he grew older.

Presented by Sarah Walker.

Wind Quintet in E minor, Op 88, No 1
The Belfiato Quintet

String Quartet No. 1 in E minor, 'From my Life'
Pavel Haas Quartet

57 minutes

Music Played

  • Antoine Reicha

    Quintet in E minor Op.88`1

    Ensemble: Belfiato Quintet.
  • Bedrich Smetana

    Quartet no. 1 in E minor (from My Life)

    Ensemble: Pavel Haas Quartet.
  • Antonín Dvořák

    Cyprise B.152

    Ensemble: Bennewitz Quartet.