Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Helsinki Philharmonic and RTE National Symphony

Rautavaara's Cello Concerto No 2 'Towards the Horizon' from Helsinki, and Mozart's Sinfonia Concertante for violin and viola from the RTE National Symphony Orchestra in Dublin.

Finnish composer Einojuhani Rautavaara's second cello concerto, entitled Towards the Horizon, was his last concerto before his death in 2016. It's a lush, lyrical work, with dreamlike flights for the soloist - Marko Ylönen in this Helsinki performance. Then we head to Dublin for a work that showcases other string soloists - the violin and viola. Mozart's Sinfonia Concertante in E flat is arguably the composer's first mature masterpiece, with its intensely impassioned slow movement and effervescent finale.

Presented by Kate Molleson.

Rautavaara: Towards the Horizon
Marko Ylönen (cello)
Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra
Klaus Mäkelä (conductor)

Mozart: Sinfonia Concertante in E flat K364
Veronika Eberle (violin)
Amihai Grosz (viola)
RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra
Nathalie Stutzmann (conductor)

59 minutes

Music Played

  • Einojuhani Rautavaara

    Towards the horizon, Concerto for cello and orchestra

    Performer: Marko Ylönen. Orchestra: Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: Klaus Mäkelä.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Sinfonia concertante in E flat major, K.364

    Performer: Veronika Eberle. Performer: Amihai Grosz. Orchestra: RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Nathalie Stutzmann.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Ich ruf zu Dir, Herr Jesu Christ, Bwv.639

    Performer: Lisa Batiashvili. Music Arranger: Anders Hillborg. Orchestra: Stockholm Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: Karina Canellakis.


The women erased from musical history

The women erased from musical history

Discover the music of five forgotten women composers, performed in a special IWD concert.

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Music by Malcolm Arnold, Edward Elgar and Herbert Howells.