Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

K’antu Ensemble, Xuefei Yang, Jessica Cottis

Sean Rafferty presents top-class live music from some of the world's finest musicians. Music from K’antu Ensemble, Xuefei Yang and a premiere preview with Jessica Cottis.

Sean Rafferty presents top class live music from some of the world's finest musicians. Combining elements of folk and world; the early music ensemble K’antu join us in the studio to perform live before their concert at Bridgewater Hall in Manchester on Friday 22nd February, and Classical guitarist Xuefei Yang, who will appear at Bath's Bachfest festival, also performs. We speak to conductor Jessica Cottis ahead of the Royal Opera House premiere of " The Monstrous Child " on Thursday 21st February.

2 hours

Music Played

  • Joaquín Rodrigo

    Concierto de Aranjuez (3rd mvt)

    Performer: Xuefei Yang. Orchestra: Orquestra Simfònica de Barcelona i Nacional de Catalunya. Conductor: Eije Oue.
    • Rodrigo, Concierto de Aranjuez: Xuefei Yang.
    • EMI Classics.
    • 3.
  • Juan del Encina

    Amor con fortuna

    Ensemble: K'antu Ensemble.
  • Antonio de Salazar

    Tarara, qui yo soy Anton

    Ensemble: K'antu Ensemble.
  • William Walton

    Battle (Henry V Suite)

    Orchestra: Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: Jessica Cottis.
  • Michael Nyman

    If (from The Diary of Anne Frank)

    Performer: Jess Gillam. Performer: John Harle. Orchestra: BBC Concert Orchestra. Conductor: Jessica Cottis.
    • Decca.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Symphony No 39 in E flat major, K 543 (4th mvt)

    Orchestra: English Chamber Orchestra. Conductor: Jeffrey Tate.
    • Mozart The Collectors Edition 50 CDs The Masterpieces The Greatest Artists.
    • EMI Classics.
  • Anon

    Cachua a voz y bajo Al Nacimiento de Christo Nuestro Senor

    Ensemble: K'antu Ensemble.
  • Anon


    Ensemble: K'antu Ensemble.
  • Vincenzo Bellini

    Norma (Overture)

    Orchestra: Filarmonica della Scala. Conductor: Riccardo Chailly.
    • Overtures, Preludes and Intermezzi.
    • Decca.
    • 6.
  • John Dowland

    The Earl of Essex's Galliard

    Performer: Jacob Heringman. Ensemble: Rose Consort of Viols.
    • NAXOS.
  • Robert Farnon

    The Westminster Waltz

    Orchestra: Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: Barry Wordsworth.
    • British Light Classics: Royal Philharmonic Orchestra/Barry Wandsworth.
    • Warner Classics.
    • 16.
  • Gustav Holst

    Mercury, the Winged Messenger (The Planets, Op 32)

    Orchestra: London Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: Bernard Haitink.
    • Holst: The Planets: Haitink.
    • Philips.
    • 3.
  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Piano Concerto No 1 in C major, Op 15 (2nd mvt)

    Performer: Lars Vogt. Orchestra: City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Sir Simon Rattle.
    • Beethoven: Piano Concertos 1 & 2: Vogt, Rattle.
    • EMI Classics.
    • 2.
  • Gaspar Sanz

    Folias and Canarios

    Performer: Xuefei Yang.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    'Air on the G string'

    Performer: Xuefei Yang.
  • Felix Mendelssohn

    Symphony no 3, "Scottish" (4th mvt)

    Orchestra: City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Edward Gardner.
    • Chandos.
  • Changjun Xu

    Sword Dance

    Performer: Xuefei Yang.
  • Antonio Vivaldi

    Concerto in G major, RV 151 (Alla rustica)

    Ensemble: La Serenissima. Director: Adrian Chandler.
    • Avie.


Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

30 minutes of uninterrupted music - on air every weekday at 7pm and online at any time.

In Tune Sessions

In Tune Sessions

Watch live performances recorded at the In Tune studios