Main content

The Fitzwilliam Collection

Harpsichordist Sophie Yates explores the legacy of the 7th Viscount Fitzwilliam, whose collection of manuscripts is one of the most important archives in Britain.

The Fitzwilliam Museum in Cambridge is home to a priceless collection of manuscripts bequeathed to the university by the extraordinary 18th-century polymath, the 7th Viscount Fitzwilliam.

Harpsichordist Sophie Yates visits the museum to explore the life and legacy of Fitzwilliam, whose now-famous Virginal Book is considered to be the primary source for late Elizabethan and early Jacobean keyboard music.

Available now

29 minutes

Last on

Sun 22 Nov 2020 14:00

Music Played

  • Francesco Geminiani

    Sonata in E minor, Op.4 No.10 (1st movement: Andante)

    Performer: Liana Mosca.
  • John Keeble

    Voluntary No.3 in F (4th movement: Fugue)

    Performer: Richard Hobson.
    • REGENT.
  • Jacques Duphly

    La Pothouin

    Performer: Sophie Yates.
    • CHANDOS.
  • Jean‐Philippe Rameau

    Ouverture: Castor et Pollux

    Orchestra: Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century.
    • Phillips.
  • George Frideric Handel

    Praise him, all ye that in his house [Chandos anthem No.9]

    Singer: Iestyn Davies. Conductor: Stephen Layton. Orchestra: Academy of Ancient Music.
    • Hyperion.
  • Lord Fitzwilliam


    Performer: Gerald Gifford.
    • GMG.
  • Pietro Domenico Paradies

    Sonata No.1 (Allegro)

    Performer: Enrico Baiano. Performer: Michael Cox. Singer: James Gilchrist. Ensemble: Fitzwilliam String Quartet.
    • GLOSSA.
  • Padre Antonio Soler

    Sonata in C major

    Performer: Diego Ares.
  • Peter Phillips


    Performer: Christopher Hogwood.
    • Decca Eloquence.
  • Arcangelo Corelli

    Sonata in D minor, Op.5 No.7 ((1st movement)

    Performer: Sophie Yates.


  • Sun 27 Jan 2019 14:00
  • Sun 22 Nov 2020 14:00