Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Trebuchet by Ruth Rendell

With the world on the brink of catastrophe, a family take shelter on a remote Scottish island. Read by Hattie Morahan.

An occasional series of stories from life’s murkier places.

Series Four: Tales from the collection A Spot Of Folly by Ruth Rendell.

While the world is on the brink of catastrophe, Mark, Miriam and their children are on a sheltered Scottish island.

Ruth Rendell was one of the UK’s most prominent crime writers. Best known for her Inspector Wexford books, she also wrote psychological novels as Barbara Vine. In 1996 she was awarded the CBE and in 1997 became a Life Peer. She died in May 2015. A Spot Of Folly, a collection of previously unpublished stories, was published in 2017.

Writer: Ruth Rendell
Reader: Hattie Morahan
Producer: Jeremy Osborne

A Sweet Talk Production for BBC Radio 4 Extra

15 minutes