Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Cellist Natalie Clein chooses music that satisfies both mind and heart

Natalie Clein opens up a colourful selection of classical music from a cello player's point of view - revealing familiar and unfamiliar works in a new light.

Cellist Natalie Clein describes what it’s like playing J.S. Bach’s inexorable bass lines, thinks about how important silence is - both in music and everyday life, and presents two very different versions of the tango.

She also introduces us to a refreshing take on Vivaldi’s Four Seasons and the granite-like construction of Sibelius’s 5th Symphony.

Natalie’s Must Listen piece at 2pm takes us into the world of one of the greatest pianists of the 20th century - performing his own music.

A series in which each week a musician explores a selection of music - from the inside.

A Tandem Production for BBC Radio 3

1 hour, 56 minutes

Music Played

  • Erwin Schulhoff

    5 pieces for string quartet - Alla tango milonga

    Ensemble: Hagen Quartett.
    • DG.
  • Astor Piazzolla


    Ensemble: Astor Piazzolla Quintet.
    • TROVA.
  • Antonio Vivaldi

    Seasons RV 269 'Spring'

    Performer: Thomas Zehetmair. Orchestra: Camerata Bern.
  • Midori Takada

    Le Renard Bleu (Blue Fox) - excerpt

    Composer: Lafawndah. Performer: Midori Takada. Singer: Lafawndah.
    • KENZO !K7.
  • Johannes Brahms

    Piano Trio Op.8 - 1st movement Allegro con brio

    Ensemble: Beaux Arts Trio.
    • DECCA.
  • Zoltán Kodály

    Dances of Galanta

    Orchestra: Budapest Festival Orchestra. Conductor: Iván Fischer.
    • PHILIPS.
  • Sergey Rachmaninov

    Moment Musical Op.16 no.2

    Performer: Sergey Rachmaninov.
    • RCA.
  • Sergey Rachmaninov

    Prelude in C sharp minor Op.3 no.2

    Performer: Sergey Rachmaninov.
    • TELARC.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    St Matthew Passsion - opening chorus

    Ensemble: Dunedin Consort. Conductor: John Butt.
    • LINN.
  • Franz Schubert

    No.8: Morgengruss, 'Guten Morgen, schone Mullerin!' (Die Schone Mullerin D.795)

    Performer: Graham Johnson. Singer: Ian Bostridge.
  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Cello Sonata Op.69 1st movement - Allegro ma non tanto

    Performer: Heinrich Schiff. Performer: Till Fellner.
    • PHILIPS.
  • Jean Sibelius

    Symphony No.5 Finale

    Conductor: Colin Davies. Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra.
    • LSO LIVE.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Prelude and Fugue in C sharp major (Well-tempered clavier Book 2 no.3)

    Performer: Sir András Schiff.
    • ECM.
  • Brian Wilson

    In My Room

    Composer: Gary Usher. Performer: Jacob Collier. Music Arranger: Jacob Collier. Singer: Jacob Collier.
    • MEMBRAN.


How to compose music for video games

How to compose music for video games

Eimear Noone, composer of The Legend of Zelda allows us into her world