Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Yasmin Evans tries Clemmie's classical playlist

Meditation, Monteverdi and how music moves - Radio 1Xtra DJ and all-round music fanatic Yasmin Evans makes some new musical discoveries.

Meditation, Monteverdi and how music moves - 1Xtra DJ and all-round music fanatic Yasmin Evans makes some new classical music discoveries.

Yasmin's playlist:
Monteverdi - Pur ti miro (I gaze at you) from The Coronation of Poppea
Weber - Clarinet Concerto no.1 in F minor (3rd movement)
Arvo Part - Spiegel im Spiegel
Janacek - In the Mists (1st movement)
Duke Ellington - Nutcracker overture (based on music by Tchaikovsky)
Ólafur Arnalds - For now I am winter

Classical Fix is Radio 3's new programme and podcast, designed for music fans who are curious about classical music and want to give it a go, but don't know where to start. Each week Clemency Burton-Hill creates a custom-made playlist for her guest who then joins her to discuss their impressions of their brand new classical music discoveries. Available through BBC Sounds.

30 minutes

Music Played

  • Claudio Monteverdi

    Pur ti miro, pur ti godo (L'Incoronazione di Poppea)

    Singer: Elin Manahan Thomas. Singer: Robin Blaze. Orchestra: Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment. Conductor: Harry Christophers.
    • Eternal Light: Elin Manahan-Thomas.
    • Heliodor.
    • 16.
  • Carl Maria von Weber

    Clarinet Concerto No 1 in F minor, Op 73 (3rd mvt)

    Performer: Michael Collins. Performer: Laura Samuel. Orchestra: City of London Sinfonia. Conductor: Michael Collins.
    • Weber: Clarinet Concertos etc.: Stirling/CLS/Collins.
    • Chandos.
  • Arvo Pärt

    Spiegel im Spiegel

    Performer: Nicola Benedetti. Performer: Alexei Grynyuk.
    • Nicola Benedetti: Fantasie.
    • Deutsche Grammaphon.
    • 6.
  • Leos Janáček

    In the Mists; 1. Andante

    Performer: Leif Ove Andsnes.
    • VIRGIN.
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

    The Nutcracker Suite: Overture

    Performer: Duke Ellington. Music Arranger: Duke Ellington. Ensemble: Duke Ellington Orchestra.
    • Columbia.
  • Ólafur Arnalds

    For Now I Am Winter

    Composer: Arnor Dan Arnarson. Music Arranger: Geoff Lawson. Performer: VOCES8.
    • Decca : 483 0968.
    • Decca.
    • 1.


Featured in...

Clara Amfo's classical music fix

Clara Amfo's classical music fix

What happened when the Radio 1 DJ dipped her toes into classical for the first time?