Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

2018 Bath Mozartfest – Beethoven and the Belcea Quartet

Sarah Walker presents music from the Bath Mozartfest including the Belcea Quartet performing music by Beethoven

Sarah Walker presents a selection of music from the 2018 Bath Mozartfest. Beethoven composed his Quartet in B flat major Op 130 during the final years of Beethoven’s life. This work originally featured his 'Grosse Fugue' as the climatic movement. However, the composer's friends found the music too demanding and persuaded Beethoven to provide an alternative finale. This performance by the Belcea Quartet restores the work to Beethoven's original vision. This is followed by the pianist Angela Hewitt performing Ravel's iconic Pavane.

Beethoven: String Quartet, Op 130 with Grosse Fugue, Op 133
Belcea Quartet

Ravel: Pavane pour une infante defunte
Angela Hewitt, piano

Produced by Luke Whitlock

Photo credit: Enlightened Lighting

57 minutes

Music Played

  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    String Quartet in B flat major, Op 130 with Grosse Fuge

    Ensemble: Belcea Quartet.
  • Maurice Ravel

    Pavane pour une infante defunte for piano

    Performer: Angela Hewitt.


  • Fri 7 Dec 2018 13:00