Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Tuesday: BBC Philharmonic

Tom McKinney presents live recordings of music by Ravel, Elgar, Musgrave and Copland performed by the BBC Philharmonic.

Ravel, Elgar, Musgrave and Copland from live recordings by the BBC Philharmonic. An orchestration of Ravel's piano suite, Le Tombeau de Couperin, is followed by 2016 BBC Young Musician of the Year Winner, Sheku Kanneh-Mason's rendition of Elgar's Cello Concerto. We'll also hear Copland's first orchestral work to be composed, in his own words, 'along Schoenbergian lines'.

Le Tombeau de Couperin
Cello Concerto in E minor, Op 85
Sheku Kanneh-Mason, cello
Petrushka (1947 version)
BBC Philharmonic
Joana Carneiro, conductor

Overture (Euryanthe)
BBC Philharmonic
Juanjo Mena, conductor

c. 3.30pm
Violin Concerto in D Major, Op 35
BBC Philharmonic
Vasily Petrenko, conductor
Maria-Elisabeth Lott, violin

Thea Musgrave
The Seasons
BBC Philharmonic
Clark Rundell, conductor

c. 4.30pm
BBC Philharmonic
John Wilson, conductor

Presented by Tom McKinney.

3 hours

Music Played

  • Maurice Ravel

    Le tombeau de Couperin

    Orchestra: BBC Philharmonic. Conductor: Joana Carneiro.
  • Edward Elgar

    Cello concerto

    Performer: Sheku Kanneh-Mason. Orchestra: BBC Philharmonic.
  • Igor Stravinsky

    Petrushka (1947)

    Orchestra: BBC Philharmonic. Conductor: Joana Carneiro.
  • Carl Maria von Weber

    Overture, Euryanthe

    Orchestra: BBC Philharmonic. Conductor: Juanjo Mena.
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

    Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35

    Performer: Maria-Elisabeth Lott. Orchestra: BBC Philharmonic.
  • Thea Musgrave

    The Seasons

    Orchestra: BBC Philharmonic. Conductor: Clark Rundell.
  • Aaron Copland


    Orchestra: BBC Philharmonic. Conductor: John Wilson.
  • Leonard Rosenman

    East of Eden (1955) - Main Title

    Orchestra: London Sinfonietta. Conductor: John Adams.