Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

The Amériques Mixtape

A special mix inspired by Edgard Varèse's sound portrait of New York, Amériques - a key work in Radio 3's Our Classical Century programming. In Tune's specially curated playlist continues its journey with music by Henry Cowell, Aaron Copland and Woody Guthrie.

30 minutes

Last on

Mon 26 Nov 2018 19:00

Music Played

  • Edgard Varèse

    Ameriques (original version)

    Orchestra: Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra. Conductor: Riccardo Chailly.
    • Varese the complete works.
    • Decca.
    • 002.
  • Henry Cowell

    Aeolian Harp

    Performer: Alan Feinberg.
    • The American Innovator - Alan Feinberg.
    • ARGO.
    • 4.
  • Aaron Copland

    Appalachian Spring (Nos 6, 7 and 8)

    Orchestra: Aurora Orchestra. Conductor: Nicholas Collon.
    • Roadtrip.
    • Warner.
    • 13-15.
  • Antonín Dvořák

    String Quartet No. 12 in F Major, Op. 96 "American" - 1st mvt

    Ensemble: Escher String Quartet.
    • Dvořák: String Quartet No. 12 - Tchaikovsky: String Quartet No. 1 - Borodin: Str.
    • BIS.
    • 1.
  • Philip Glass

    Akhnaten (Act 2, Sc 3: The City)

    Orchestra: Ulster Orchestra. Conductor: Takuo Yuasa.
    • Philip Glass: Violin Concerto.
    • Naxos.
    • 9.
  • Woody Guthrie

    This land is my land

    • The Asch Recordings vol 1.
    • Smithsonian Folkways.
    • 14.


Don't Worry, Be Happy – Ten pieces of uplifting music

Don't Worry, Be Happy – Ten pieces of uplifting music

Ten pieces and 300 years of irresistibly cheerful music including Don't Worry Be Happy...

Music to help you focus

Music to help you focus

Discover the best classical music for study, inspiration and relaxation.

Enjoy the In Tune Mixtape wherever you are

Enjoy the In Tune Mixtape wherever you are

It's on air every weekday at 7pm, but you can listen any time, anywhere. Here's how.