Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Nicola Heywood Thomas presents music from the Dartington Festival including dance music by Ginastera and Piazzola, and Mozart’s Divertimento in E flat for String Trio, K563.

Nicola Heywood Thomas presents music from the Dartington Summer School and Festival, which in the summer months of 2018 marked its seventieth anniversary. To begin, the pianist Joanna MacGregor sets the tone with three dramatic Argentinian dances by Ginastera. To follow this Mozart’s masterful Divertimento, which despite its beauty, it remains quite a challenge for performers. The concert ends with the festival artistic director and pianist Joanna MacGregor, performing another lively dance, Libertango by Piazzola.

Ginastera: Danzas Argentinas, Op 2
Joanna MacGregor, piano

Mozart: Divertimento in E flat, K563
Thomas Gould, violin
Yung-Hsin Chang, viola
Adrian Brendel, cello

Piazzola: Libertango
Joanna MacGregor, piano

Produced by Luke Whitlock

57 minutes

Music Played

  • Alberto Ginastera

    Danzas Argentinas

    Performer: Joanna MacGregor.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Divertimento in E flat major, K.563

    Performer: Thomas Gould. Performer: Yung Hsin-Chang. Performer: Adrian Brendel.
  • Astor Piazzolla


    Performer: Joanna MacGregor.