Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Nicola Heywood Thomas presents music from the Dartington Festival including Thomas Gould with a work by Silvestrov and music by Britten performed by the Heath Quartet.

Nicola Heywood Thomas presents music from the Dartington Summer School and Festival, which in the summer months of 2018 marked its seventieth anniversary. To begin, the festival artistic director and pianist Joanna MacGregor joins forces with the violinist Thomas Gould to perform the highly atmospheric Post Scriptum by Valentin Silvestrov. This is followed by a performance of Britten’s second String Quartet, composed to celebrate the anniversary of the death of Henry Purcell.

Silvestrov: Post Scriptum
Thomas Gould, violin
Joanna MacGregor, piano

Britten: String Quartet No 2
Heath Quartet

Produced by Luke Whitlock

57 minutes

Music Played

  • Valentin Silvestrov

    Post Scriptum for violin and piano

    Performer: Thomas Gould. Performer: Joanna MacGregor.
  • Benjamin Britten

    String Quartet No 2 in C major, Op 36

    Ensemble: The Heath Quartet.