Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Members of the Nash Ensemble perform Ireland's Piano Trio No 2 and Elgar's Piano Quintet in A minor, the first of 4 concerts in the War's Embers series from LSO St Luke's, London.

Fiona Talkington presents the first of 4 concerts from LSO St Luke's in London given by the Nash Ensemble and Ashley Wass to commemorate the centenary of the Armistice. Today, members of the Nash Ensemble perform Ireland's heartbreakingly beautiful Piano Trio No.2 written in 1917 and Elgar's Piano Quintet. in A minor, written in his Sussex retreat at the end of the First World War.

Fiona Talkignton (presenter)

Piano Trio No.2
Stephanie Gonley (violin)
Adrian Brendel (cello)
Ian Brown (piano)

Piano Quintet in A minor
Stephanie Gonley (violin)
Michael Gurevich (violin)
David Adams (viola)
Adrian Brendel (cello)
Ian Brown (piano)

57 minutes

Music Played

  • John Ireland

    Trio No. 2 In E Minor For Piano And Strings

    Ensemble: Nash Ensemble.
  • Edward Elgar

    Quintet In A Minor Op.84 For Piano And Strings

    Orchestra: Nash Ensemble.