Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra

The BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Gergely Madaras, performs Dohnanyi's First Violin Concerto, Kodaly's Dances of Galanta and Borodin's Second Symphony in B minor.

The BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra end a week of concerts with Dohnanyi's First Violin Concerto with soloist Barnabás Kelemen, Kodály's Dances of Galánta and Borodin's Second Symphony. The concert is conducted by Gergely Madaras and presented by Tom Redmond.

Tom also features another symphonic work by Michael Tippett, ending his brief survey this week of the composer's works with the Fourth Symphony. It begins and ends with the sound of a single breath, fittingly as Tippett described the work as a 'birth to death piece.'

2.00 pm
Erno Dohnanyi: Violin Concerto No 1 in D minor
Zoltán Kodály: Dances of Galánta
Alexander Borodin: Symphony No 2 in B minor

BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Barnabás Kelemen, violin
Gergely Madaras, conductor

c. 3.25 pm
Mussorgsky: Pictures from an Exhibition
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Rory Macdonald, conductor

c. 4.00 pm
Michael Tippett: Symphony No 4
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Martyn Brabbins, conductor

c. 4.30 pm
Bridge orch P Hindmarsh: 3 Idylls for string quartet
BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra
Laura Samuel, director/violin

3 hours