Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Grace Davidson and David Miller, Joana Carneiro, Inon Barnatan

Katie Derham's guests include pianist Inon Barnatan, who performs live for us, as do soprano Grace Davidson and lutenist David Miller. Plus conductor Joana Carneiro.

Katie Derham presents a lively mix of music, conversation and arts news. Her guests include pianist Inon Barnatan, who plays live in the studio for us before giving a recital at London's Queen Elizabeth Hall tomorrow. Soprano Grace Davidson and lutenist David Miller perform music by John Dowland, which they have just released on CD, and conductor Joana Carneiro looks forward to her debut with the BBC Philharmonic at the Bridgewater Hall in Manchester.

2 hours

Music Played

  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Orchestral Suite No 3 in D major, BWV 1068 (Overture)

    Orchestra: Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra. Conductor: Ton Koopman.
    • J.S. Bach, Orchestral Suites, Amsterdam Baroque Orchestra / Ton Koopman.
    • RCA.
    • 1.
  • John Dowland

    Come Heavy Sleep

    Performer: Grace Davidson. Performer: David Miller.
  • António Pinho Vargas

    Agnus Dei

    Conductor: Joana Carneiro. Orchestra: Coro e Orquestra Gulbenkian. Conductor: Paulo Lourenço.
    • Pinho Vargas: Requiem/Judas.
    • Naxos.
    • 008.
  • Max Bruch

    Violin Concerto No.1 in G minor op.26 - Finale

    Performer: Christian Svarfvar. Conductor: Joana Carneiro. Orchestra: London Philharmonic Orchestra.
    • Bruch & Stenhammar.
    • Rubicon.
    • 003.
  • Pietro Mascagni

    Intermezzo (Cavalleria rusticana)

    Orchestra: Orchestre de Paris. Conductor: Semyon Bychkov.
    • Mascagni: Cavalleria Rusticana - Norman, Giacomini.
    • Philips.
  • Edvard Grieg

    Sylphe (Lyric pieces, Bk.7)

    Performer: Stephen Hough.
    • Hyperion.
  • Giovanni Gabrieli

    Sonata a 22 S.241 [1615 no.20]

    Ensemble: Berlin Brass. Director: Lucas Vis.
  • Antonín Dvořák

    Slavonic Dance in C minor, Op 46 No 7

    Orchestra: Czech Philharmonic. Conductor: Karel Šejna.
  • Peteris Vasks

    The Fruit of Silence

    Choir: VOCES8. Performer: Huw Watkins.
    • DECCA.
  • William Mathias

    Serenade for small orchestra, Op 18

    Orchestra: Royal Ballet Sinfonia. Conductor: Andrew Penny.
    • Welsh Classical Favourites: Royal Ballet Sinfonia/Penny.
    • Marco Polo.
  • Maurice Ravel

    Pavane pour une Infante defunte

    Performer: Inon Barnatan.
  • Gioachino Rossini

    Il Signor Bruschino (Overture)

    Orchestra: Orpheus Chamber Orchestra.
    • DG.
  • Franz Schubert

    Winterreise, Op. 89, D. 911 (Sung in English): No. 22. Courage

    Performer: Christopher Glynn. Singer: Roderick Williams.
    • Schubert: Winter Journey.
    • Signum Classics.
    • 22.
  • Francis Poulenc

    Sonata for horn, trumpet and trombone (1st mvt)

    Performer: Ian Brown. Ensemble: Nash Ensemble.
    • Poulenc: Complete Chamber Music: Nash Ensemble.
    • Hyperion.
    • 10.


Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

30 minutes of uninterrupted music - on air every weekday at 7pm and online at any time.

In Tune Sessions

In Tune Sessions

Watch live performances recorded at the In Tune studios