Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

A Week in Berlin

Penny Gore presents two concerts given by the Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra in their series 'Hope in times of war'. Music by Britten, Liszt, Ades, Schoenberg and Beethoven

Penny Gore presents two concerts given by the Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra in their series "Hope in times of war". Thomas Ades conducts a death-infused programme of Britten, Liszt and his own Totentanz, while Vladimir Jurowski interpolates Schoenberg's searing A Survivor from Warsaw into Mahler's orchestration of Beethoven's final symphony

Sinfonia da requiem, Op.20
Kyrill Gerstein, piano
Christianne Stotijn, mezzo-soprano
Simon Keenlyside, baritone
Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra
Thomas Ades, conductor

Beethoven orch. Mahler
Symphony no.9 in D minor, Op.125 "Choral"
A Survivor from Warsaw
Christina Landshamer, soprano
Maria Gortsevskaya, contralto
Torsten Kerl, tenor
Dietrich Henschel, baritone/narrarator
Berlin Radio Chorus
Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra
Vladimir Jurowski, conductor

3 hours

Last on

Fri 12 Oct 2018 14:00

Music Played

  • Benjamin Britten

    Sinfonia da Requiem, op. 20

    Singer: Christianne Stotijn. Singer: Simon Keenlyside. Orchestra: Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Thomas Adès.
  • Franz Liszt

    Totentanz, Paraphrase on 'Dies Irae', S. 126

    Performer: Kirill Gerstein. Orchestra: Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin. Conductor: Thomas Adès.
  • Thomas Adès


    Performer: Kirill Gerstein.
  • Thomas Adès


    Performer: Thomas Adès. Orchestra: Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin.
  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Symphony No. 9 in D minor, op. 125 ('Choral')

    Conductor: Vladimir Jurowski. Singer: Christina Landshamer. Singer: Maria Gortsevskaya. Singer: Torsten Kerl. Singer: Dietrich Henschel. Orchestra: Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin.
  • Luigi Boccherini

    Symphony no.13 in C major, G.515

    Orchestra: New Berlin Chamber Orchestra. Conductor: Michael Erxleben.
  • Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach

    Symphony in E flat major, Wq. 179 (H654) - first movement

    Orchestra: Lausanne Chamber Orchestra. Conductor: Christian Zacharias.
    • MDG.


  • Fri 12 Oct 2018 14:00