Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Alban Gerhardt, Rebecca Afonwy-Jones, Sarah Davachi, Claire M Singer

Sean Rafferty presents, with guests including mezzo-soprano Rebecca Afonwy-Jones, cellist Alban Gerhardt, and organ composers Claire M Singer and Sarah Davachi.

Cellist Alban Gerhardt performs live in the studio ahead of his Kings Place Master Series solo recital. Sean speaks to composer Sarah Davachi and Claire M Singer, artistic director of Organ Reframed, the experimental organ festival at Union Chapel. Mezzo-soprano Rebecca Afronwy-Jones sings in the studio; she's performing in Welsh National Opera's La Traviata, as well as the London premiere of Joseph Phibbs' chamber opera Juliana.

2 hours

Music Played

  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Sinfonia (Cantata No 29, 'Wir danken dir Gott, wir danken dir')

    Performer: Herman Stinders. Choir: Collegium Vocale Gent. Conductor: Philippe Herreweghe.
    • Harmonia Mundi.
  • Hector Berlioz

    'L'île inconnue', from Les nuits d'été (no 6)

    Performer: Rebecca Afonwy-Jones. Performer: Timothy End.
  • Augustine Bassano


    Ensemble: The English Cornett and Sackbut Ensemble.
    • RESONUS.
  • Sarah Davachi


  • Claire M Singer

    Solas (extract)

  • Mikhail Ivanovich Glinka

    Ruslan and Ludmila (Overture)

    Orchestra: Chicago Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Fritz Reiner.
    • RCA.
  • Joseph Phibbs

    'Midsummer's Eve' from Juliana

    Performer: Rebecca Afonwy-Jones. Performer: Timothy End.
  • Felix Mendelssohn

    String Quartet No 4 in E minor, Op 44 No 2 (2nd mvt)

    Ensemble: Escher String Quartet.
    • Bis.
  • Richard Strauss

    'Traum durch die Dämmerung', from 3 Songs, Op 29 no 1

    Performer: Rebecca Afonwy-Jones. Performer: Timothy End.
  • Alban Berg

    'Die Nachtigall', from 7 Early Songs (no 3)

    Performer: Rebecca Afonwy-Jones. Performer: Timothy End.
  • Claude Debussy

    Les sons et les parfums tournes dans l'air du soir (Preludes Bk 1, No 4)

    Music Arranger: Colin Matthews. Orchestra: Hallé. Conductor: Sir Mark Elder.
    • HALLE.
  • George Frideric Handel

    Sibilar gli angui d'Aletto (Rinaldo)

    Singer: Christopher Purves. Orchestra: Arcangelo. Conductor: Jonathan Cohen.
    • Handel: Finest Arias for Bass Voice: Purves/Arcangelo/Cohen.
    • Hyperion.
    • 1.
  • George Gershwin

    Porgy and Bess (Act 3, Sc 3: Oh, Bess, oh where's my Bess?)

    Performer: Richard Rodney Bennett. Music Arranger: Richard Rodney Bennett.
    • Gershwin/Kern etc: That certain feeling: Richard Rodney Bennett.
  • Anton Bruckner

    Symphony no 9 in D minor; 2nd mvt, Scherzo and Trio

    Orchestra: Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: Günter Wand.
    • RCA.
  • Sergey Rachmaninov

    Sonata in G minor for cello and piano, Op 19; 3rd mvt, Andante

    Performer: Alban Gerhardt. Performer: Sam Armstrong.
  • Franz Schubert

    Ständchen ('Zögernd leise'), D920

    Performer: Wolfgang Sawallisch. Singer: Brigitte Fassbaender. Choir: Capella Bavariae.
    • WARNER.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Suite in D for solo cello, BWV 1012; 5. Gavottes 1 and 2

    Performer: Alban Gerhardt.
  • György Ligeti

    Sonata for solo cello; 2nd mvt, Capriccio - Presto con slancio

    Performer: Alban Gerhardt.
  • Domenico Scarlatti

    Sonata in F minor, Kk.386

    Performer: Christian Zacharias.


Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

30 minutes of uninterrupted music - on air every weekday at 7pm and online at any time.

In Tune Sessions

In Tune Sessions

Watch live performances recorded at the In Tune studios