Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Cheltenham Music Festival 2018

Sarah Walker introduces the Haffner Ensemble performing Mozart and Steven Isserlis playing Martinu’s Cello Sonata No 1 at the Pittville Pump room in Cheltenham.

Sarah Walker introduces highlights from the 74th Cheltenham Music Festival and performances given in the Georgian splendour of the Pittville Pump Room. Today, Nicholas Daniel’s Haffner Ensemble are joined by pianist Charles Owen to perform music that Mozart described as ‘the best work I have ever composed’. Steven Isserlis and Connie Shih present Martinů’s tumultuous Cello Sonata No.1, written during the Nazi occupation of his homeland, Czechoslovakia.

Mozart: Quintet for Piano and Winds, K452
The Haffner Ensemble, directed by Nicholas Daniel
Charles Owen, piano

Kapralova: Ritournelle
Steven Isserlis, cello
Connie Shih, piano

Martinů: Cello Sonata No.1
Steven Isserlis, cello
Connie Shih, piano

Debussy: Syrinx
Tom Hancox, flute

57 minutes

Music Played

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Quintet in E flat major K.452 for piano and winds

    Performer: Charles Owen. Ensemble: The Haffner Wind Ensemble.
  • Vítězslava Kaprálová

    Ritournelle for cello and piano, Op 25

    Performer: Steven Isserlis. Performer: Connie Shih.
  • Bohuslav Martinu

    Sonata No 1 for cello and piano

    Performer: Steven Isserlis. Performer: Connie Shih.
  • Claude Debussy

    Syrinx for flute solo

    Performer: Thomas Hancox.


Featured in...