Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Inside Music with Javier Perianes

Pianist Javier Perianes opens up a colourful selection of music from the inside - revealing familiar and unfamiliar works in a new light

A series in which each week a musician reveals a selection of music - from the inside. Today pianist Javier Perianes explores the emotional heart of performances from Schubert’s String Quintet in C major and Puccini’s Tosca, to Tchaikovsky’s “Pathétique” symphony and a Mazurka by Chopin played by Artur Rubinstein.

Javier also finds that the slow tempo conductor Otto Klemperer brings to Bach’s St. Matthew Passion allows a particularly mystical quality to emerge, and recalls how Daniel Barenboim gave Javier particular insights into the piano sonatas of Beethoven.

At 2 o’clock Javier plays his Must Listen piece featuring someone he calls “a poet of the piano”, Dinu Lipatti. The recording was made 70 years ago and according to Javier, no-one has made a finer one since.

A Tandem Production for BBC Radio 3

1 hour, 56 minutes

Music Played

  • Isaac Albéniz

    Iberia - 'El Albayzin'

    Performer: Alicia de Larrocha.
    • DECCA.
  • Manuel de Falla

    The Three Cornered Hat - Jota

    Orchestra: Orquesta Nacional de España. Conductor: Ataúlfo Argenta.
  • Franz Schubert

    String Quintet D 956 in C Major - Adagio

    Performer: Mstislav Leopoldovich Rostropovich. Ensemble: Emerson String Quartet.
    • DG.
  • Joseph Haydn

    Symphony No.104, 'London' Third movement, Menuetto-Allegro

    Orchestra: Orchestra of the Eighteenth Century. Conductor: Frans Brüggen.
    • PHILIPS.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    St. Matthew Passion - Kommt, ihr Tochter

    Choir: Boys of Hampstead Parish Church Choir. Orchestra: Philharmonia Orchestra. Conductor: Otto Klemperer.
    • EMI.
  • Felix Mendelssohn

    Lieder ohne Worte Op.53 No.3 - Presto agitato

    Performer: Javier Perianes.
  • Giacomo Puccini

    Tosca - Vissi d'arte

    Singer: Maria Callas. Singer: Giuseppe di Stefano. Singer: Tito Gobbi. Orchestra: La Scala Orchestra, Milan. Conductor: Victor de Sabata.
    • EMI.
  • Robert Schumann

    Piano Concerto in A minor Op.54 1st movement

    Performer: Dinu Lipatti. Orchestra: Philharmonia Orchestra. Conductor: Herbert von Karajan.
    • PHILIPS.
  • Tomás Luis de Victoria

    Officium defunctorum - Versa est in luctum

    Ensemble: Collegium Vocale Gent. Conductor: Philippe Herreweghe.
    • OUTHERE.
  • Frédéric Chopin

    Nocturne No.16 in E flat Op.55 No.2

    Performer: Maria João Pires.
    • DG.
  • Frédéric Chopin

    Mazurkas Op.68 No.4 in F minor

    Performer: Arthur Rubinstein.
    • NAXOS.
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

    Symphony No.6 4th movement - Finale

    Orchestra: Leningrad Philharmonic Chamber Orchestra. Conductor: Yevgeny Mravinsky.
    • DG.
  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Piano Sonata No.12 Op.26 in A flat major - Andante con variazioni

    Performer: Daniel Barenboim.
    • DG.
  • Oliver Knussen

    Songs for Sue Op.33 - W.H. Auden

    Singer: Claire Booth. Ensemble: Birmingham Contemporary Music Group. Conductor: Oliver Knussen.
    • NMC.


How to compose music for video games

How to compose music for video games

Eimear Noone, composer of The Legend of Zelda allows us into her world