Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Cassado, Mozart's String Quartet No 21 in D, K575, and Saint-Saens's Septet performed by members of Radio 3's New Generation Artists scheme at the 2018 Cheltenham Festival.

Sarah Walker introduces highlights from 2018 Cheltenham Festival performed by Radio 3's New Generation Artists in the Georgian splendour of the Pittville Pump Room. Today Romanian cellist Andrei Ionita plays Cassado's virtuoso Suite for Solo Cello, the American quartet The Calidores present a late quartet written by Mozart with a rich cellist very much in mind, and they are joined by Norwegian violist Eivind Ringstad, German trumpeter Simon Hofele for a performance of a rarity, Saint-Saens Septet with Frank Dupree taking the piano part and bassist Daniel Storer.

Cassadó: Suite for Solo Cello
Andre Ionita, cello

Mozart: String Quartet No 21 in D major K. 575
Calidore Quartet

Saint-Saens: Septet for trumpet, 2 violins, viola, cello, double bass & piano
Calidore Quartet, Simon Hofele, trumpet; Daniel Storer, double bass; Frank Dupree, piano

57 minutes

Music Played

  • Gaspar Cassadó

    Suite for solo cello

    Performer: Andrei Ioniţă.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    String Quartet in D major, K.575

    Ensemble: Calidore String Quartet.
  • Camille Saint‐Saëns

    Septet in E flat major for trumpet, piano and strings

    Performer: Simon Höfele. Performer: Charles Owen. Performer: Daniel Storer. Ensemble: Calidore String Quartet.