Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Broadcast live from the Queen’s Hall, the Pavel Haas Quartet performs works by Schubert, Ravel and Shostakovich.

The Czech Pavel Haas Quartet takes to the International Festival stage at the Queen’s Hall in Edinburgh for a live recital that includes Shostakovich’s heart felt String Quartet No. 7 from 1960, written in memory of his first wife. Schubert’s ‘Rosamunde’ quartet using incidental music for a play by Helmina von Chezy is followed by Ravel’s lyrical and playful string quartet in F major.

Shostakovich: String Quartet No 7 in F-sharp minor, Op. 108
Schubert: String Quartet No 13 in A minor D804 ‘Rosamunde’
Ravel: String Quartet in F major

Pavel Haas Quartet

Presenter: Kate Molleson
Producer: Gavin McCollum

1 hour, 59 minutes

Music Played

  • Dmitry Shostakovich

    String Quartet No. 7 in F-sharp minor, Op. 108

    Ensemble: Pavel Haas Quartet.
  • Franz Schubert

    String Quartet no. 13 in A minor D.804 (Rosamunde)

    Ensemble: Pavel Haas Quartet.
  • Sergey Rachmaninov

    Etudes-tableaux Op 33 (1911)

    Performer: Steven Osborne.
  • Maurice Ravel

    String Quartet in F major

    Ensemble: Pavel Haas Quartet.
  • Antonín Dvořák

    Cyprus No.89

    Ensemble: Pavel Haas Quartet.


Featured in...