Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Episode 10

The Norwegian author's struggle to write about his childhood and father. Honest and detailed memoir read by David Threlfall. From January 2017.

A Death in the Family is the first book in the six volume cycle of autobiographical novels, My Struggle. Karl Ove Knausgaard's memoir has been described, in many countries, as a masterpiece.

With searing honesty, and an unflinching gaze turned upon himself and those around him, he writes about his teenage years in Norway. Later, he looks back on the writing of this book, the changes in his life and his second marriage to Linda, and the arrival of their children. Becoming a father prompts further reflections on family life and his relationship with his own father.

Karl Ove Knausgaard was born in December 1968. He published two novels, in 1998 and 2004, which both won prizes in Norway. The six volume series of novels, titled Min Kamp in Norwegian, were published between 2009 and 2011, totalling over 3,500 pages. The sixth and final volume, translated by Don Bartlett, has recently been published in the UK. He lives in Sweden with his wife, the writer Linda Boström Knausgaard, and their four children.

Written by by Karl Ove Knausgaard
Translated by Don Bartlett
Read by David Threlfall
Abridged by Isobel Creed and Jill Waters
Produced by Jill Waters
A Waters Company production for BBC Radio 4.

15 minutes

Last on

Sat 20 Oct 2018 02:00

More episodes



You are at the last episode

See all episodes from Karl Ove Knausgaard - A Death in the Family