Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Takács Quartet and Marc-André Hamelin

The Takacs Quartet are joined by pianist Marc-Andre Hamelin for a recital of Mozart, Dvorak and Dohnanyi chamber music, live from the Queen's Hall in Edinburgh.

Live from the Queen's Hall in Edinburgh, the Takács Quartet performs chamber music from central Europe. Taking centre stage is Dvořák's evergreen String Quartet no. 12 nicknamed the American Quartet, preceded by Mozart's string quartet in D major, written for the cello-playing King of Prussia Frederick William II. Canadian pianist Marc-André Hamelin joins the ensemble for Dohnányi's richly romantic first Piano Quintet.

Mozart: String Quartet No. 21 in D major, K575
Dvořák: String Quartet in F, Op. 96, 'The American'


Dohnányi: Piano Quintet No 1 in C minor, Op. 1

Takács Quartet
Marc-André Hamelin (piano)

Presenter: Donald Macleod
Producer: Gavin McCollum.

2 hours

Music Played

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    String Quartet in D, K575

    Ensemble: Takács Quartet.
  • Antonín Dvořák

    String Quartet in F major, Op 96 'The American'

    Ensemble: Takács Quartet.
  • Mily Alexeyevich Balakirev


    Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Valery Gergiev.
  • Erno Dohnanyi

    Piano Quintet No 1

    Performer: Marc-André Hamelin. Ensemble: Takács Quartet.
  • Mark Simpson


    Performer: Nicholas Daniel.
    • Night Music.
    • NMC Recordings.
    • 7.


Featured in...