Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Sarah Walker presents chamber music by Balakirev, Eisler and Shostakovich performed by Ensemble 360 at Sheffield's Crucible Studio as part of the recent Russia in the Round season.

This week's Lunchtime Concerts come from Sheffield's Crucible Studio as part of the recent "Russia In the Round" season. In today's programme, Sarah Walker presents works by Mily Balakirev, Hanns Eisler and Dmitri Shostakovich, as performed by Sheffield's resident chamber music group Ensemble 360.

Balakirev: Octet, Op.3, for piano, wind and strings
Eisler: Septet No.1, Op 92a, for flute, clarinet, bassoon and string quartet
Shostakovich: String Quartet No.8
Ensemble 360.

58 minutes

Music Played

  • Mily Alexeyevich Balakirev

    Octet, Op. 3

    Ensemble: Ensemble 360.
  • Hanns Eisler

    Septet no.1, Op. 92a

    Ensemble: Ensemble 360.
  • Dmitry Shostakovich

    String Quartet no. 8 in C minor, Op. 110

    Ensemble: Ensemble 360.