Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Paul Lewis, live in concert, plays Beethoven, Haydn and Brahms at the Royal Festival Hall

Live from the Royal Festival Hall, pianist Paul Lewis plays music from the Classical period to the Romantic, with works by Beethoven, Haydn and Brahms. Mark Forrest presents.

Pianist Paul Lewis performs music by Beethoven, Haydn and Brahms, in the second recital of a series he's devised exploring the connections between these composers, associated with the musical life in Vienna and the Austro-Hungarian Empire in the late 18th and 19th-Centuries. The concert opens with Beethoven's 11 Bagatelles, Op. 119, a collection of short pieces written over a period of more than 25 years, from the 1790s to the early 1820s. Then, on either side of the interval, come two pieces by Haydn: first, his Sonata in E flat major, Hob. XVI/49, written for the fortepiano in 1789/90, marking the beginning of his mature style for the keyboard; then, opening the second half of this recital, it's his Sonata in B minor, Hob. XVI/32, part of a set of six, published privately in 1776. The concert closes with Brahms' 4 Pieces, Op. 119, written in 1892/3, part of the wonderful chamber music that the composer wrote towards the end of his life. The piece is comprised by three intermezzi followed by a rhapsody.

Live from the Royal Festival Hall in London
Presented by Mark Forrest

Beethoven: 11 Bagatelles, Op.119

Haydn: Sonata in E flat, Hob.XVI/49

Interval Music

Haydn: Sonata in B minor, Hob.XVI/32

Brahms: 4 Pieces, Op.119

Paul Lewis, piano.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    11 Bagatelles Op. 119

    Performer: Paul Lewis.
  • Joseph Haydn

    Sonata in E flat Hob XVI/49

    Performer: Paul Lewis.
  • Johannes Brahms

    Variations on a Theme by Haydn

    Orchestra: New York Philharmonic. Conductor: Kurt Masur.
    • WARNER.
  • Joseph Haydn

    Sonata in B minor Hob XVI/32

    Performer: Paul Lewis.
  • Johannes Brahms

    Four Piano Pieces Op. 119

    Performer: Paul Lewis.
  • Sir Hamilton Harty

    An Irish Symphony

    Orchestra: Ulster Orchestra. Conductor: Bryden Thomson.
  • Georges Bizet

    Habanera from Suite No 2 (Act 1)

    Orchestra: Ulster Orchestra. Conductor: Yan Pascal Tortelier.
    • Chandos.


The women erased from musical history

The women erased from musical history

Discover the music of five forgotten women composers, performed in a special IWD concert.

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Music by Malcolm Arnold, Edward Elgar and Herbert Howells.