Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

John Shea presents music by Tchaikovsky

In place of the live concert from Gateshead due to technical issues, John Shea presents recordings of the Tchaikovsky music that Julian Rachlin and Jian Wang would have performed.

Due to technical problems we are unable to broadcast tonight's live concert from Sage Gateshead.

Instead, John Shea presents recordings of the music that Julian Rachlin and Jian Wang would have performed with Royal Northern Sinfonia.


TCHAIKOVSKY Rococo Variations
Steven Isserlis (cello)
Chamber Orchestra of Europe
John Eliot Gardiner (conductor)

TCHAIKOVSKY Andante Cantabile (arr. from String Quartet no.1)
Mstislav Rostropovich (cello)
Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra

Symphony no.4 in F minor
Boston Symphony Orchestra
Pierre Monteux (conductor)

Presented by John Shea.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

    Variations on a Rococo theme, Op 33

    Performer: Steven Isserlis. Orchestra: Chamber Orchestra of Europe. Conductor: Sir John Eliot Gardiner.
    • Virgin.
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

    Andante Cantabile (Op.11) arr for cello and orchestra from String Quartet No. 1

    Performer: Mstislav Leopoldovich Rostropovich. Orchestra: Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra.
    • DG.
  • Dmitry Shostakovich

    Five Pieces for 2 violins and piano (arr. Lev Atovmian)

    Performer: Julian Rachlin. Performer: Janine Jansen.
  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Piano Trio in D major, Op. 70 No. 1 'Ghost', (3rd mvt)

    Performer: Martha Argerich. Performer: Julian Rachlin.
  • Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky

    Symphony No 4 in F minor, Op 36

    Orchestra: Boston Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Pierre Monteux.
    • RCA.
  • Amelia Clarkson


    Performer: Arturo Irisarri. Singer: Persha Darling.
  • Sarah Nicolls

    Seagull Chorale (from Moments of Weightlessness)

    Performer: Sarah Nicolls.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Trio for clarinet, viola and piano, K.498 'Kegelstatt Trio'

    Performer: Pascal Moraguès. Performer: Frank Braley. Performer: Vladimir Mendelssohn.
  • Anton Stepanovich Arensky

    Variations on a theme by Tchaikovsky, Op 35a

    Orchestra: Philharmonia Hungarica. Conductor: Antal Doráti.
  • Max Bruch

    8 Pieces for cl, vla (cello) & pf (harp) (Op.83),no.3 in C# min;Andante con moto

    Performer: Ralph Manno. Performer: Guido Schiffen. Performer: Liese Klahn. Ensemble: ensemble incanto.
    • Johannes Brahms/Max Bruch.
    • EBS.
    • 7.


The women erased from musical history

The women erased from musical history

Discover the music of five forgotten women composers, performed in a special IWD concert.

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Music by Malcolm Arnold, Edward Elgar and Herbert Howells.