Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

The Philharmonia plays Mendelssohn and Brahms

Daniele Gatti and the Phiharmonia Orchestra perform two of the warmest symphonies in the repertoire, both the result of happy holidays: Mendelssohn's 'Italian' and Brahms's Second.

Daniele Gatti conducts the Phiharmonia Orchestra in two of the sunniest major key symphonies of the 19th-century, each the result of happy holidays.

Like many a German before and since, Italy's climate, landscape and rich cultural history had an irresistible allure for Mendelssohn. His exuberant 'Iltalian' Symphony, full of southern sunshine and energy, directly reflects the exhilaration and joy of his ten-month tour from Milan to Naples in 1830-31. Brahms's Second Symphony, cheery chalk to the soul-searching First Symphony's cheese, was written on holiday at P├Ârtschach am W├Ârthersee in southern Austria. The lakeside resort quickly became a favourite with the Viennese after it got its own railway station on the line from Vienna in 1864. For Brahms. The place evidently released in Brahms a cheerful D major, unbuttoned vibe: his unclouded Second Symphony was written during his 1877 summer holiday there, and the following year he was back again, this time writing his equally relaxed and happy Violin Concerto.

Martin Handley presents, live from the Royal Festival Hall.

Mendelssohn: Symphony No. 4 in A major, Op.90 ('Italian')
Brahms: Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op.73

Philharmonia Orchestra
Daniele Gatti (conductor).

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Felix Mendelssohn

    Symphony no. 4 in A major Op.90 (Italian)

    Performer: Philharmonia Orchestra. Conductor: Daniele Gatti.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    English Suite No.3 in G minor, BWV 808

    Performer: Murray Perahia.
    • Bach: English Suites Nos. 1,3 & 6.
    • Sony.
    • 9-15.
  • Johannes Brahms

    Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 73

    Orchestra: Philharmonia Orchestra. Conductor: Daniele Gatti.
  • Edward Elgar

    Violin sonata in E minor Op.82

    Performer: James Ehnes. Performer: Andrew Armstrong.
    • Debussy, Elgar, Respighi - Violin Sonatas.
    • ONYX.
  • Edward Elgar

    Harmony No.4 'The Farmyard'

    Ensemble: Athena Ensemble.
    • CHANDOS.
  • Edward Elgar

    The Dance (From the Bavarian Highlands)

    Performer: Iain Farrington. Choir: Cambridge University Chamber Choir. Director: Christopher Robinson.
    • NAXOS.


Role Contributor
Performer BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra


The women erased from musical history

The women erased from musical history

Discover the music of five forgotten women composers, performed in a special IWD concert.

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Music by Malcolm Arnold, Edward Elgar and Herbert Howells.