Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

NYOS highlights, Drake Music Scotland and Tectonics

Jamie speaks to composer Tina Krekels ahead of Tectonics festival in May, hears about Drake Music Scotland's 20th anniversary celebrations and has more highlights from a special recording of NYOS Spring concert at Glasgow's City Halls, with a piano concerto premiere by Jay Capperauld.

1 hour, 55 minutes

Music Played

  • Alexander Borodin

    String Quartet No 2 in D major (Scherzo)

    Ensemble: Brodsky Quartet.
    • Borodin/Tchaikovsky: String quartets.
    • Teldec.
    • 2.
  • Domenico Scarlatti

    Sonata in D minor, Kk.9

    Performer: Dinu Lipatti.
    • J.S.Bach: Partita 1/Mozart: Piano Sonata.
    • EMI.
    • 12.
  • AGF


    • Solidarity EP.
  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Symphony No 1 in C major, Op 21 (3rd mvt)

    Orchestra: Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: Claudio Abbado.
    • Beethoven: 9 Symphonies: Abbado, Berliner Philharmoniker.
    • Deutsche Grammophon.
    • 3.
  • Nikolai Karlovich Medtner

    By the Gate of a Holy Cloister

    Performer: Iain Burnside. Singer: Rodion Pogossov.
    • Medtner Songs.
    • Delphian Records.
  • Gustav Holst

    Jupiter, the Bringer of Jollity (The Planets, Op 32)

    Conductor: Malcolm Sargent. Orchestra: BBC Symphony Orchestra.
    • The Best BBC Proms Album in the World... Ever!.
    • Virgin.
    • 15.
  • Dmitry Shostakovich

    Concerto for Piano, Trumpet and String Orchestra Op 35 - Last mvt

    Performer: Paul Lewis. Performer: Nicholas Betts. Orchestra: City of London Sinfonia. Conductor: Richard Hickox.
    • Shostakovich & Schnittke Piano Concertos.
    • BBC Music Magazine.
  • Nikolai Karlovich Medtner

    Wandrers Nachtlied II

    Performer: Iain Burnside. Singer: Nikolay Didenko.
    • Medtner Songs.
    • Delphian Records.
  • Florence Price

    Symphony in E minor (3rd mvt)

    Ensemble: New Black Music Repertory Ensemble. Conductor: Leslie B.Dunner.
    • Symphony in E Minor by Price.
    • Albany Music Dist. Inc..
    • 004.
  • Drake Music Scotland - Digital Orchestra

    The Beginning - Drake Music Scotland Digital Orchestra

  • Leos Janáček

    Sinfonietta, 3rd movement; Moderato

    Conductor: Sir Simon Rattle. Orchestra: Philharmonia Orchestra.
    • Janacek: Sinfonietta: Rattle.
    • EMI.
    • 3.
  • Camille Saint‐Saëns

    Carnival of the Animals, R. 125: XIII. The Swan

    • The Cello in Wartime.
    • BIS.
    • 501.
  • Nikolai Karlovich Medtner


    Performer: Iain Burnside. Singer: Robin Tritschler.
    • Medtner Songs.
    • Delphian Records.
  • Jay Capperauld

    Endlings: Live recording of NYOS

    Performer: James Willshire. Orchestra: NYOS Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Rebecca Miller.
  • Nikolai Karlovich Medtner

    If Life Deceives You

    Performer: Iain Burnside. Singer: Justina Gringytė.
    • Medtner Songs.
    • Delphian Records.
  • Richard Strauss

    Dreaming by the Fireside (4 Symphonic Interludes from Intermezzo)

    Orchestra: Melbourne Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Sir Andrew Davis.
    • ABC.


Classics Unwrapped on Facebook

Classics Unwrapped on Facebook

Get the latest behind-the-scenes news and photos on our Facebook page.