Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Wigmore Hall Mondays: Calidore String Quartet

Live from the Wigmore Hall, The Calidore String Quartet, a member of the Radio 3 New Generation Artists scheme plays Mozart, Caroline Shaw and Shostakovich.

Live from Wigmore Hall, London.

The Calidore String Quartet is a member of the Radio 3 New Generation Artists scheme, and today they perform an early Divertimento by Mozart followed by Caroline Shaw's First Essay, 'Nimrod'. The concert concludes with Shostakovich's contemplative Ninth String Quartet.

Presented by Andrew MacGregor.

Mozart: Divertimento in F, K138
Caroline Shaw: First Essay: Nimrod
Shostakovich: String Quartet No 9 in E flat, Op 117.

58 minutes

Music Played

  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Divertimento in F, K.138

    Ensemble: Calidore String Quartet.
  • Caroline Shaw

    First Essay: Nimrod

    Ensemble: Calidore String Quartet.
  • Dmitry Shostakovich

    String Quartet No. 9 in E-flat Op. 117

    Ensemble: Calidore String Quartet.
  • Felix Mendelssohn

    3rd mvt. of String Quartet op.44 no.1

    Ensemble: Calidore String Quartet.