Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Why Music? The Key to Memory

Sarah Walker presents soloists from Aurora Orchestra playing Schubert's String Quintet in C and a world premiere by Martin Suckling, with poetry by Frances Leviston.

Sarah Walker presents a concert with soloists from Aurora Orchestra performing the great Schubert String Quintet and the world premiere of a new work by Martin Suckling with poetry by Frances Leviston, inspired by the Schubert, Emily Dickinson and the pioneering use of piezoelectric data storage.

Schubert: String Quintet in C major, D.956

Sarah Walker asks Martin Suckling and Frances Leviston about their collaboration and learns about piezoelectric technology and its implications from Stuart Parkin, Director of the Max Planck Institute of Microstructure Physics and professor at the Institute of Physics, Martin-Luther-University Halle-Wittenberg

Martin Suckling: String Quintet (first performance)

Frances Leviston (reader)
Soloists of Aurora Orchestra

New works commissioned by Poet in the City and Aurora Orchestra, supported by Bio Nano Consulting Ltd for the dissemination of PETMEM (Piezoelectronic Transduction Memory Device), a project exploring low-voltage memory technologies.

Live from Wellcome Collection as part of Why Music? The Key to Memory, a weekend of events, concerts and discussions exploring music's unique capacity to be remembered.

1 hour, 27 minutes

Music Played

  • Franz Schubert

    String Quintet in C Major D.956

    Orchestra: Aurora Orchestra.
  • Martin Suckling

    Aurora Orchestra - Lunchtime Concert Live from Wellcome Collection

    Orchestra: Soloists from the Aurora Orchestra. Ensemble: Martin Suckling Quintet.


  • Sun 15 Oct 2017 13:00