Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Thom Yorke and Hans Zimmer chat

Radiohead's Thom Yorke and composer Hans Zimmer chat to 6 Music Breakfast this morning about recording for the BBC's Blue Planet. Plus comedian Ellie Taylor.

Radiohead's Thom Yorke & composer Hans Zimmer chat to 6 Music Breakfast this morning about recording for the BBC's Blue Planet. Radiohead have teamed with Hans Zimmer, the Oscar-winning composer for The Dark Knight, The Lion King and Gladiator, on a new piece of music - called ocean (Bloom) - that will appear on a prequel to the BBC's flagship nature documentary series Blue Planet II. The pair chat with Matt Everitt about the reworking of Bloom, Radiohead's song from their 2011 album The King of Limbs, which has seen Thom Yorke rerecording vocals for the new version. "Bloom was inspired by the original Blue Planet series, so it's great to be able to come full circle with the song and reimagine it for this incredible landmark's sequel," Yorke said.

Plus, Comedian Ellie Taylor joins after 9am to chat about her new tour, there is an Album of the Day track from Phoebe Bridgers and Shaun is after your Earworms before 8am.

3 hours

Last on

Wed 27 Sep 2017 07:00

Music Played

  • The Stone Roses

    Begging You

    • Geffen.
  • Sparks

    Edith Piaf (Said It Better Than Me)

    • BMG.
  • Nina Simone

    Save Me

    • The Essential Nina Simone Volume 2.
    • Sony.
  • Todd Terje

    Inspector Norse

    • It's Album Time.
    • Olsen Records.
    • 001.
  • Weaves


  • Fatboy Slim

    Right Here, Right Now

    • Right Here Right Now.
    • Fin People.
    • 1.
  • Daughter

    Burn It Down

    • 4AD.
  • Radiohead & Hans Zimmer

    Ocean Bloom

  • Divinyls

    I Touch Myself

    • Hard 2 Get Hits - Various Artists.
    • Disky.
  • Elvis Costello & The Attractions

    I Can't Stand Up For Falling Down

    • IMP Records.
  • The Horrors

    Something To Remember Me By

    • Wolftone.
  • Ibibio Sound Machine

    Give Me A Reason

    • Merge Records.
  • The Postal Service

    Such Great Heights

    • Subpop.
  • Self Esteem

    Your Wife

    • Kick & Clap.
  • A Certain Ratio

    Shack Up

    • Factory.
  • Ryan Adams

    New York New York

    • Lost Highway.
  • St. Vincent

    Los Ageless

  • Phoebe Bridgers

    Motion Sickness

    • Dead Oceans.
  • Rostam

    Bike Dream

    • Nonesuch.
  • Bob Marley & The Wailers

    Get Up, Stand Up

    • Island.
  • Mr Jukes

    Leap Of Faith (feat. De La Soul & Horace Andy)

    • Island Records.
  • Cocteau Twins

    Pearly-Dewdrops' Drops

    • 4 A.D.
  • Everything Everything


    • RCA Records.
  • One Dove

    White Love

    • (CD Single).
    • BOYS OWN.
    • 6.
  • The Surfaris


    • Demon.
  • Battles

    Ice Cream

    • WARP.
  • Courtney Barnett & Kurt Vile

    Over Everything

    • Milk!/Matador/Marathon Artists/Mom and Pop.
  • Nick Hakim


  • The Beach Boys

    Good Vibrations

    • EMI.


  • Wed 27 Sep 2017 07:00