Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Harriet Mackenzie, Sakari Oramo

Clemency Burton-Hill with a lively mix of chat, arts news and live performance. Clemency's guests include conductor Sakari Oramo to talk about conducting at the BBC Proms. Violinist Harriet Mackenzie performs live in the studio and talks about her new CD release.

1 hour, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Jean Sibelius

    Karelia Suite (Alla marcia)

    Conductor: Sakari Oramo. Orchestra: City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra.
    • Sibelius: Symphony No.5/Karelia Suite etc: City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra.
    • Erato.
    • 6.
  • Johann Sebastian Bach

    Concerto for 2 violins in D minor BWV1043 1st Mvt: Vivace

    Performer: Harriet Mackenzie (violin). Performer: Philippa Mo (violin).
  • Deborah Pritchard

    Wall of Water (2014) Violin Concerto

    Performer: Harriet Mackenzie. Orchestra: English String Orchestra. Conductor: Kenneth Woods.
    • Nimbus Alliance.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    'Per pieta, ben mio, perdona ...' Fiordiligi from Act 2 of Cosi fan Tutte

    Performer: Georg Solti. Singer: Renée Fleming. Orchestra: Chamber Orchestra of Europe.
    • Decca.
  • Philip Glass

    String Quartet No. 3 (Mishima); mvt. IV: 1962-Body Building

    Ensemble: Kronos Quartet.
    • Kronos Quartet performs Philip Glass.
    • Nonesuch.
    • 16.
  • Samuel Coleridge-Taylor

    La caprice de Nanette (Petite suite de concert)

    Orchestra: Philharmonia Orchestra. Conductor: Malcolm Sargent.
    • EMI.
  • Gabriel Fauré

    Pelléas et Mélisande Suite, Op 80 (Sicilienne)

    Orchestra: Orchestre symphonique de Montréal. Conductor: Charles Dutoit.
    • Faure: Requiem, Pelleas et Melisande, Pavane: Te Kanawa/Milnes/Montreal/Dutoit.
    • Decca.
    • 10.
  • Heinrich von Biber

    Passacaglia in G minor "The Guardian Angel"

    Performer: Harriet Mackenzie (violin).
  • William Croft

    Sonata no 4 in E minor

    Performer: Harriet Mackenzie (violin). Performer: Philippa Mo (violin).
  • Camille Saint‐Saëns

    Valse-caprice in A flat major, Op 76, 'Wedding Cake'

    Performer: Stephen Hough. Orchestra: City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Sakari Oramo.
    • Hyperion.
  • Carl Nielsen

    Symphony no 2, Op16, 'The Four Temperaments' 4th mvt: Allegro sanguineo

    Orchestra: Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: Sakari Oramo.
    • BIS.
  • Jimmy Forrest

    Night Train

    Ensemble: The Oscar Peterson Trio.
    • VERVE.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Divertimento in B flat major, K 270 (4th mvt)

    Orchestra: Orpheus Chamber Orchestra.
    • DG.


Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

Discover more music with the In Tune Mixtape

30 minutes of uninterrupted music - on air every weekday at 7pm and online at any time.

In Tune Sessions

In Tune Sessions

Watch live performances recorded at the In Tune studios