Main content

Shirley Hughes

Michael Berkeley is joined by children's author Shirley Hughes on her 90th birthday. Her musical selections include Scriabin, Mozart, Beethoven and The Beatles.

On her 90th birthday, Shirley Hughes, the creator of many of our best-loved and most enduring children's books, talks to Michael Berkeley about her musical passions.

In a career spanning nearly seventy years Shirley has written as many books and has illustrated nearly two hundred. She was the first winner of the Book Trust Lifetime Achievement Award, has twice won the Kate Greenaway Medal, and was recently awarded a CBE for services to literature.

Her picture books have an enduring appeal with their sympathetic but unsentimental depiction of the small dramas and joys of family life. One of her most loved, Dogger, the tale of a beloved toy dog lost and found, has its 40th anniversary this year. The winner of numerous awards, she recently received a CBE for services to literature.

Shirley chooses music by Scriabin, Mozart, Beethoven and the Beatles - who remind her of her roots in Liverpool and share her love of storytelling.

Producer: Jane Greenwood
A Loftus production for BBC Radio 3.

Available now

35 minutes

Last on

Sun 16 Jul 2017 12:00

Music Played

  • Alexander Scriabin

    Piano Sonata no.3 in F sharp minor (1st mvt: Drammatico)

    Performer: Dmitri Alexeev.
  • Jimmy McHugh

    I Must Have that Man

    Singer: Billie Holiday.
  • Franz Schubert

    Der Lindenbaum (Winterreise)

    Performer: Paul Lewis. Singer: Mark Padmore.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Voi che Sapete (Le Nozze di Figaro)

    Orchestra: Orchestre de l’Opéra de Lyon. Conductor: Kazushi Ono. Singer: Joyce DiDonato.
  • Ludwig van Beethoven

    Symphony No.1 in C major (1st mvt)

    Orchestra: Staatskapelle Dresden. Conductor: Colin Davis.
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

    Flute Concerto No.1 in G major (2nd mvt: Adagio)

    Performer: Jean‐Pierre Rampal. Orchestra: Wiener Symphoniker. Conductor: Theodor Guschlbauer.
  • John Lennon

    She's Leaving Home

    Composer: Paul McCartney. Ensemble: The Beatles.


Six mind-expanding music podcasts to download in 2019

Six mind-expanding music podcasts to download in 2019

Love music? Looking for new ear-fodder for your commute? We've got you covered.

Archive Unlocked: Two Decades of Private Passions

Archive Unlocked: Two Decades of Private Passions

Michael Berkeley introduces memorable interviews from Private Passions' archives.