Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Sunday - Martin Handley

Martin Handley presents Radio 3's classical breakfast show, featuring listener requests.


2 hours

Music Played

  • Frederick Delius

    A Village Romeo and Juliet: The Walk to the Paradise Garden

    Orchestra: Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: Thomas Beecham.
    • EMI.
  • Hildegard von Bingen

    O Ecclesia

    Choir: Gothic Voices. Director: Christopher Page.
    • Hyperion.
  • Henry Purcell

    Sonata in three parts No 10 in A major

    Performer: Pavlo Beznosiuk. Performer: Rachel Podger. Performer: Christophe Coin. Performer: Christopher Hogwood.
    • l'Oiseau Lyre.
  • Olivier Messiaen

    O sacrum convivium

    Choir: Det Norske Solistkor. Conductor: Grete Pedersen.
    • BIS.
  • Sally Beamish

    Seavaigers (Haven)

    Performer: Chris Stout. Performer: Catriona McKay. Ensemble: Scottish Ensemble.
    • McKay Stout Music.
  • Frédéric Chopin

    Ballade No.4

    Performer: Krystian Zimerman.
    • DG.
  • Elena Kats‐Chernin

    Ornamental Air for basset clarinet and orchestra (3rd mvt)

    Performer: Michael Collins. Orchestra: Swedish Chamber Orchestra. Conductor: Michael Collins.
    • Mozart/Copland/Kats-Chernin: Works for Clarinet and Orchestra: Michael Collins.
    • Chandos.
    • 8.
  • Gabriel Pierné

    Scherzo-Caprice in D major, Op 25

    Performer: Jean-Efflam Bavouzet. Performer: BBC Philharmonic. Conductor: Juanjo Mena.
    • CHANDOS.
  • Dmitry Shostakovich

    The Golden age - Dance of the Tennis Players and Training Session

    Orchestra: Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra. Conductor: Gennady Nikolayevich Rozhdestvensky.
    • CHANDOS.
  • Arthur Honegger

    Pastorale d'été

    Orchestra: Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Charles Dutoit.
    • Honegger - Symphonie No. 1 - Pacific 231.
    • Erato.
    • 4.
  • Albert Roussel

    Divertissement, Op.6

    Ensemble: Les Vents Français.
    • WARNER.
  • Leonard Bernstein

    Sonata in A for clarinet and piano

    Performer: Annelien Van Wauwe. Performer: Martin Klett.
  • Edward Elgar

    Symphony No 3 - 2nd movement, Scherzo allegretto

    Composer: Anthony Payne. Orchestra: London Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: Colin Davis.
    • LSO Live.


Five simple steps for morning mindfulness

Five simple steps for morning mindfulness

How listening to R3 Breakfast can reduce stress, aid mindfulness and cure morning breath.

Chilled – five great Russian winter pieces you’ve mostly never heard of …

Chilled –  five great Russian winter pieces you’ve mostly never heard of …

The BBC's Steve Rosenberg (a handy pianist) chips the ice off favourite classical scores.

Get singing: The Pankhurst Anthem

Get singing: The Pankhurst Anthem

We're inviting singers to mark 100 years of UK women's suffrage with a new choral work.

Sounds of the Earth

Sounds of the Earth

In this Weekend Breakfast feature, we hear the natural world in its many guises.