Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra - Debussy, Lalo, Rimsky-Korsakov

The Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra live at the Lighthouse in Poole. Debussy: Prelude a l'apres-midi d'un faune. Lalo: Symphonie espagnole. Rimsky-Korsakov: Scheherazade.

Live from the Lighthouse in Poole, James Gaffigan conducts the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra in Debussy's Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune, Lalo's Symphonie Espagnole (with violin soloist Alexandra Soumm) and Rimsky-Korsakov's Scheherazade.

Introduced by Martin Handley

Debussy: Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune
Lalo: Symphonie Espagnole

8.25 pm Interval

Rimsky-Korsakov: Scheherazade

Alexandra Soumm (violin)
Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra
James Gaffigan (conductor)

Debussy's seductive painting of a languid, sun-drenched Sicilian afternoon marked a turning point in musical history, with its tantalising veil of hypnotic colours and textures conjuring up the lustful dream of a flute-playing satyr. Lalo's Symphonie espagnole was an instant hit from its premiere in 1875 with Pablo de Sarasate in the concerto-like solo violin role. Tchaikovsky loved it, writing "It is so fresh and light, and contains piquant rhythms and melodies which are beautifully harmonised." Rimsky-Korsakov's Scheherazade consisted of "separate, unconnected episodes and pictures" as the composer himself put it, from The Arabian Nights: snapshots, in other words, of a world he never knew - a triumph of imagination over experience!.

2 hours, 30 minutes

Music Played

  • Part 1

    • Claude Debussy

      Prelude a l'apres midi d'un faune

      Orchestra: Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: James Gaffigan.
    • Édouard Lalo

      Symphonie espagnole, Op.21

      Performer: Alexandra Soumm. Orchestra: Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra.
    • Johann Sebastian Bach

      Dance from Sonatas for Solo Violin

      Performer: Alexandra Soumm.
  • Part 2

    • Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov

      Scheherazade, Op.35

      Orchestra: Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra. Conductor: James Gaffigan.
  • Post-concert

    • Sir James MacMillan

      Seven last words from the cross (6th & 7th movements)

      Choir: Choir of St John’s College, Cambridge. Conductor: Christopher Robinson.
      • Naxos.


The women erased from musical history

The women erased from musical history

Discover the music of five forgotten women composers, performed in a special IWD concert.

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Three Great British Brass Band Pieces

Music by Malcolm Arnold, Edward Elgar and Herbert Howells.