Main content
Sorry, this episode is not currently available

Jasper Hoiby's Fellow Creatures

Soweto Kinch with another visit to this year's Bristol International Jazz Festival. He presents a set from bassist Jasper Hoiby's Fellow Creatures featuring reed player Mark Lockheart and trumpeter Laura Jurd.

1 hour, 30 minutes


Music Played

  • Soweto Kinch

    The Healing

    • The Legend of Mike Smith.
    • Soweto Kinch Recordings.
    • 39.
  • Jasper Hoiby

    Folk Song

  • Jasper Hoiby

    Fellow Creatures

  • Jasper Hoiby

    World of Contradictions

  • Jasper Hoiby

    Song For The Bees

  • Jasper Hoiby

    Collectice Spaces

  • Jasper Hoiby

    Suddenly, Everyone

  • Youn Sun Nah and Ulf Wakenius

    Momento Magico

  • Joachim Kühn & Émile Parisien


  • Michael Wollny & Wolfgang Haffner

    Swing, Swing, Swing

  • Various Artists

    Dodge The Dodo



Artist              Soweto Kinch

Title                The Healing

Composer     Kinch

Album            The Legend of Mike Smith

Label              Soweto Kinch Recordings

Number        SKP003 CD 2 Track 39

Duration       56”

Performers: Soweto Kinch, as, rhodes, prog; Shabaka Hutchings, ts; Karl Rasheed-Abel, b; Graham Godfrey, d. . 2015


Jasper Hoiby’s Fellow Creatures recorded at Bristol Jazz and Blues Festival

1) Folk Song - 11’32”                                  

2) Fellow Creatures - 9’16”

3) World of Contradictions - 5’45”

4) Song For The Bees - 6’24”

5) Collective Spaces - 4’14”

6) Suddenly, Everyone - 14’26”

Jasper Hoiby, db; Mark Lockheart, sax; Laura Jurd, tpt; Will Barry, p; Corrie Dick, d. .

25 Years of Act Records: The Jubilee Concert, recorded at the Konzerthaus in Berlin

Youn Sun Nah & Ulf Wakenius – Momento Magico (Wakenius) – 1’36”

Youn Sun Nah & Ulf Wakenius – Momento Magico (Wakenius) – 2’25”

Joachim Kuhn/Emile Parisien Duo - Unknown – 2’47”

Michael Wollny/Wolfgang Haffner Duo – Swing Swing Swing – 4’56”

Dodge The Dodo (Esbjorn Svensson) – Various – 4’20”


Meet the presenters

Meet the presenters

Soweto Kinch, Emma Smith and Al Ryan.